Encouraging Encounters


blue and silver stetoscope
Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

***NOTE: For some reason this post remained in my draft box. But I wanted to post it anyway – this was a great encounter***

Today I went to the doctor. I was desperate to be seen after the long holiday weekend because my Bell’s Palsey had once again returned. My drooping face was alive with nerve pain and I needed help! Thankfully they fit me in with a different doctor and new location. I was fine with the change and thankful to have an appointment.

I met a very knowledgeable and compassionate doctor. She was forgiving and gracious as I showed her the pill bottle of medicine I’d been taking while waiting for a doctor’s appointment. I know you aren’t supposed to take medicine that was prescribed to someone else – but I was desperate and I’ve been dealing with this condition for almost ten years so trust me when I say I was VERY careful. I showed her the pill bottle and admitted the name on it was my son, all the while apologizing for taking medicine not meant for me.

She assured me I hadn’t done any damage, but asked I not do that again. Then she asked about my children and we discovered we both had three boys, with only two-years separating their ages. Her boys are 7, 5, and 3 while mine are 17, 15, and 13. Here I was, looking into the face of a woman ten years behind me in the great timeline of motherhood and my mind flashed back to that season.

For some reason she felt comfortable with me and she asked, “Will it get better, will I make it!?” I asked for more information and immediately identified with her concerns and struggles. You see, I have been there, and now I’m on the other side. The issues didn’t go away, but yes – I made it. She provided me with medication to fix my face and stop the infection and pain. I hope I provided her with the same level of healing.

I walked out of that office with a smile on my face (well, a half-smile because my left side wasn’t working yet) because I felt useful and connected to a wonderful mom who just needed to hear that she was doing great and her boys were 100% normal. We all have stresses and issues we’re managing each day. But I hope we can stop and speak a word of encouragement and peace to our fellow mothers.

We live in a society that is truly trying to stretch its inclusive arms of acceptance. I love the moms in this blog because I know you are doing what you can to help each other. Try each day to give a smile, a thumbs up, or a hug to a mom who needs it. Just be there and be available.

Tonight I’m still praying for that sweet doctor and I believe when she finished her rounds she was able to go home with a refreshed sense of hope and excitement when it comes to being a boy-mom.

You’re all amazing and I’m so thankful for you!

Kasey

0 Responses to “Encouraging Encounters”



  1. Leave a Comment

Click here to leave a comment!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.




Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,142 other subscribers

What other moms like…

Month-by-Month

No Instagram images were found.