It’s Time


textSo it’s been a month. I find it ironic that I’m writing this post on April Fool’s because I’m reflecting on that one night when I felt like a fool, was treated like one, and have continued to struggle BECAUSE of some fools.

Here’s what happened…

It was March 1st and I went to the gym to run.

I put my bag in my locker, went up to the treadmill and about 10 minutes into my run I started to feel sick to my stomach. I almost stopped but decided to push ahead and scolded myself for eating before coming to workout.

IF I had stopped and gotten off the treadmill I would have looked out the large windows, down onto the parking lot, in time to see two men getting into my car and driving it away.

You guessed it – someone went into my locker and took my wallet and keys out of my bag. They passed keys to their buddies and stole my car, my identity, and my peace of mind.

The picture at the top of this post is the actual screen shot of my text to my husband – crazy.

So let’s get some perspective…

The PEOPLE in my life – the most important parts of my life – are safe and that’s what matters the most.

The POSESSIONS in my car were trashed, stolen and well – I’m not sure how glad I am that OnStar actually worked. I’m not sure I ever want to drive that car again – but here we are, trying to make the best of a really stinky situation.

Now for the application part…

It’s been a month and even though we recovered my car that evening, I still don’t have it back. The people who took it did so much damage it’s been a bit of a nightmare trying to talk with the repair shop, the assessor, and the insurance company. So I’ve learned how to appreciate the role others are playing in my crisis. I’ve learned to communicate without questioning and remind others how important they are to me and to the solution behind this problem.

I have been going to this gym for almost 3 years and I have never placed a lock on my locker – no one does. I trusted the system and people too much. You have to scan your card to get in so I just assumed no one in the locker room would have anything but good intentions and that I was safe. I guess that was foolish of me. I won’t be trusting anymore and I wish I could say our gym was doing more to let people know about this situation but I think they just want me and this whole thing to go away.

My children have been watching us this whole time. They watched us cancel our cards and deal with my identity being used to buy tons of medication (I’m assuming used to make drugs) at a pharmacy.

So I sit here and think about the people who did this. I call them fools not because they are worth less than me – we’re all equal in the eyes of God – but their actions show them to be people driven by actions that embody both the noun and verb forms of the word. They fooled me – they tricked and deceived me. They were fools to think they’d just be able to walk away with my car and my wallet.

Between OnStar and the police, their fun was cut short – but who has suffered the longest and the most? Me. Not them – me.

I guess that’s what happens when bad people do bad things – but I won’t let them win. It’s been a month and I’m still driving a rental as the repair place and State Farm work together to help me get back to “normal”.

I’ve started praying for these people and I’ve found comfort in the fact that God is responsible for evening the scores – not me – and it is clear these people have bigger issues and problems in their life than I do.

So I walk away remembering what is REALLY important – people and relationships. I let go of my anxiety and my desire for retribution every day – not sure when that will get easier but I have faith it will.

I hope your April Fool’s Day was calm and that you are living in a safe, secure world. We can each find things to complain about but really we should be focused on the things that matter most and be thankful for what we have.

For now I will be a bit more cautious when leaving my keys and wallet and I’ll listen to my gut (literally). I don’t want to live with a negative mindset or in fear – but my reality has been disrupted and my security has been broken. It could have been so much worse and I’m thankful it wasn’t – but even at this small level of inconvenience and frustration – I’ve gained a new appreciation for what it means to live in a world where selfishness causes pain and it makes me sad.

Let’s make this world a better place. Let’s meet everyone with a smile and a handshake and think the best of them. That way the fools that stole my car and my wallet don’t win. We aren’t going to be fooled into thinking they are the majority and I will continue to hug my kids and count my blessings every single day.

Stay safe. Stay strong.

Kasey

1 Response to “It’s Time”


  1. 1 Betty B April 2, 2017 at 7:32 AM

    What a horrific situation…and one that has consumed so much of your time and thoughts. I am SO sorry for what you and family have gone through this past month. God bless each of you. How kind of you to be praying for the villains.


Click here to leave a comment!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,134 other followers

Follow the Tweets!

What other moms like…

Month-by-Month

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.


