Thanksgiving 2.0


thankful posterBeing thankful is something we all work on, but what we’re thankful for can change – and that’s okay.

Today I boarded our plane and saw a sweet couple sitting with their 6 month old baby boy. I asked if the seat next to them was taken and they looked shocked that I’d be interested. The dad even said, “You’re awfully brave” as I sat down.

I couldn’t help but smile, because these two had no idea how thankful I was to sit next to them and just be near this precious boy. I miss those days and yet I am so very, very thankful that they had the baby and not me. I love sitting next to, holding and even caring for babies – but I’m THRILLED to not have one of my own. I’m just being honest. My version of thankful has been “updated”.

Don’t get me wrong – having a teenager and a pre-teen in the house isn’t a walk in the park – but it’s a different kind of exhaustion and stress. I’m so thankful to have memories of my boys as they grew up and explored the world. I’m even more thankful to know who I am so I can discover what it means to have a relationship with my children when they have their own thoughts, priorities, and ambitions.

I’ll be writing more about teenagers in future posts, but today I’m feeling a bit nostalgic and reflective. I remember being thankful for 3+ hours of sleep, when their teeth finally broke through their gums and the suffering stopped, when they played together in their own imaginary world I got to watch….such wonderful, precious times of truly being THANKFUL.

Today I’m thankful that my teenager thinks I’m the most strict, controlling mom ever. I’m thankful I can laugh with my teenage boy and appreciate his sense of humor, even when I find it completely ridiculous.

I’m thankful for friends who are ahead of me and behind me in this journey called parenting. They remind me to be thankful for today…for every single bit of today.

I love my yesterdays, but I don’t mourn them.

I love my todays, but I don’t let them overtake me.

I love the thought of tomorrow, but I’d never pretend to know what will happen next.

I’m so thankful for God’s grace and the gifts He has so graciously given me. My scripture for this season in life is from the Message:

Ephesians 2

7-10 Now God has us where he wants us, with all the time in this world and the next to shower grace and kindness upon us in Christ Jesus. Saving is all his idea, and all his work. All we do is trust him enough to let him do it. It’s God’s gift from start to finish! We don’t play the major role. If we did, we’d probably go around bragging that we’d done the whole thing! No, we neither make nor save ourselves. God does both the making and saving. He creates each of us by Christ Jesus to join him in the work he does, the good work he has gotten ready for us to do, work we had better be doing.

Wherever God has you right now is the RIGHT place.

You and I are JOINING God in His work , we don’t have to do it alone – that’s what allows us to be thankful – even when we’re exhausted and overwhelmed.

You are a blessing to me!

Thank you for sharing and following this blog and for being so very patient as I manage this crazy life of mine and rely on God to do the making and the saving – I’ll just keep “doing” the work in front of me – to God be the glory – he is doing GREAT THINGS!!!

Leave a comment and let us know what you are most thankful for these days…

Kasey

1 Response to “Thanksgiving 2.0”


  1. 1 jackaby1 November 28, 2015 at 8:52 PM

    Thankful for you, Kasey Johnson, and the beautiful reminders you’ve given us this Thanksgiving!


Click here to leave a comment!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,134 other followers

Follow the Tweets!

What other moms like…

Month-by-Month

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.


