Double Digits


kid with binocularsWhat is it about the double digits that seems so daunting? When our oldest turned 10 it felt like he was turning 20!

A decade had passed and I could see such growth and remember so many precious moments – I had to wonder what the next 10 years will be like.

Then I REALLY started to think about it and well…that wasn’t a good idea.

Ya see, in the next 10 years (we’re already 2 years into that season) my son will go to middle school and high school. He’ll graduate, hopefully go to college and that means he’ll leave our home {gulp}

This morning I took my boy to the church to leave for camp. He’ll be gone until Friday and this is the first time I’ve been away from him for this long.

I know he’s going to have a blast but it’s just not the same around the house and it’s only been 1 day!

Our kids are constantly growing and changing – that’s part of life.

But I wonder how many of us are truly ready for the next transition while still being able to enjoy the one we’re in – that’s a tough balance to keep!

Along with our children’s transitions, we too are growing and changing and that’s important. Sometimes I feel like I’m supposed to have all the answers or be a more “relaxed” parent because I have a kid in double digits – but that’s just not possible.

Today will bring as many “firsts” and “new” issues as I encountered the day I brought him home from the hospital.

When I look forward I find hope in the knowledge that God is already there. He’s preparing my son and ME to accept what is coming.

You see, I can be aware of our future but I need to resist the temptation to worry about it.

I need to put all my energy into TODAY. What my kids need right now, in THIS season.

I’m aware of the future because as I’m teaching them and caring for them I’ll keep in the back of my mind that everything I’m doing and saying is working toward their next transition and mine. Today will impact our future relationship, their choices and my hopes and dreams for them. But still, I don’t have to worry – even if I mess up. I can be certain that God is bigger than my flaws or mistakes.

Joshua 1:9… Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous.

Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.

God is with your children, God is with you. You are not alone and you can be strong and courageous no matter what transition or unknown you are facing!

Hang in there Momma – you’re doing great!

Kasey

1 Response to “Double Digits”


  1. 1 Sheila July 16, 2014 at 9:38 PM

    You are so right- put the future in the back of our minds and enjoy today and all the memories made !!


Click here to leave a comment!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,134 other followers

Follow the Tweets!

What other moms like…

Month-by-Month

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.


