Your kingdom come, Your will be done…


Open BibleAs we continue our series about the Lord’s Prayer we are diving into the first of many tough statements:

“Our Father in heaven,
hallowed be your name,
your kingdom come,
your will be done,
on earth as it is in heaven…

Although we typically pray this phrase in a public setting and recite it with other people, I hope we can personalize and internalize it’s meaning in a new and fresh way right now.

If we pray for God’s kingdom to come to our home – what does that mean?

From what I know of Heaven, it’s an amazing place. It’s amazing because God is there and it is His dominion. In God’s kingdom there is no Satan, no sin, no separation, no sadness and no suffering (just to list a few).

When I read this list of things that are NOT present in Heaven I start to doubt how that kind of Kingdom (the perfection that is God and Heaven) could ever exist in this sinful, fallen world. But that’s when I read the next line: “your will be done”.

I will never understand God’s ways or His will. It’s not my job to understand why He does and doesn’t do things. Isaiah 55:8 says, “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares the LORD.

Instead of seeking my own will and my own way I’m supposed to be seeking God’s ways and His will!

So if I’m constantly seeking after God, listening to Him and following Him…His will is more likely to be accomplished and therefore a little slice of Heaven, or His Kingdom, will come into my home!

When I think about it this way I see a little light in the midst of the darkness and I can discover new ways to make my little piece of earth a bit more like Heaven.

My house will never be perfectly clean, my children won’t always behave, I won’t always respond in the right way – but instead of looking at my actions and behaviors I should be praying these words:

YOUR kingdom come, YOUR will be done…not mine.

That statement seems easy to type and even to say, but living it out is a different thing.

Here’s my challenge for us this week: Let’s live on earth but keep our eyes on Heaven.

When the little frustrations begin to pile on top of you, stop and look up. Heaven is watching, Heaven is waiting, Heaven’s angels are cheering you on! Bring a little Heaven to your earth and God will be there – even in the midst of laundry, little people and carpool. Heaven doesn’t have boundaries, let it overtake your world today!

You are an amazing blessing to this world and your family – keep going and enjoy this wonderful journey!

Kasey

0 Responses to “Your kingdom come, Your will be done…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Click here to leave a comment!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,133 other followers

Follow the Tweets!

What other moms like…

Month-by-Month

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.


