The Skin We Live In


HAH-Blog-Hop-graphic (3)-1The March topic for Hearts at Home Blog Hop is: “No More Perfect Bodies”.

I love this subject because it matters to all of us. We are constantly bombarded with images, expectations and standards from our world – telling us what we “should” look like.

Remember the Ivory ads where they had “real” women in their undergarments hanging out together on a magazine page? I don’t think I could ever pose in my skivvies for an advertisement but I appreciate the effort.  Those ads allowed the rest of us to see women with bodies that are a bit more realistic, and perhaps shaped more like us.

For me there are two types of women in the world: ones with children and ones without children. Get ready for the stereotypes…

Women without children are typically able to dedicate more time to caring for themselves. This does NOT make them selfish, it’s just their reality and it’s sometimes easier for them to find time to exercise and eat right.

Women with children find themselves eating leftovers off their children’s plates, living with sleep-deprivation and the constant drain of other people needing them.

Now let’s drop the stereotypes and get to the real issue: Either we control our body or our body controls us.

Barring any major medical issues or injuries, most of us live in bodies WE created.

If we’ve been pregnant we basically sacrificed our bodies in order to create and give birth to another human being.

So what have you created? Or let me rephrase that, what are you creating?

When it comes to body image I think women need to ask themselves 3 questions (and remember, the answers ONLY pertain to our physical condition…emotional, spiritual and psychological issues are a whole different thing :o)

1. Am I healthy enough to care for my children?
2. If married, is my sexual drive and physical relationship appropriate and active?
3. After executing my daily chores/responsibilities, do I still have energy to enjoy my family?

If I can answer yes to all these questions, I’ve obviously created a body I control and it’s a body that helps me be the best woman I can be.

If I decide to do a little “re-sculpting” that’s fine, but my motivation should be fueled by personal desire.

I should never change my body because of a “comparison mindset”…I will not look like the models on TV, I won’t even look like my sweet friend who was able to wear her size 6 jeans while leaving the hospital after giving birth! Nope, that’s not happening – is it because I’m lazy or incapable? NOPE…it’s because I AM ME and I like it that way.

God made each of us unique and our children are watching us to see if we are willing to accept and be good stewards of what God gave us to work with.

So what are you doing to control your body and create a body that will work for you in fantastic ways for decades to come?

Share your daily/weekly activities and secrets that keep your body working for you in the comments – I can’t wait to hear how you take everyday events and make them creative solutions!

Kasey

Click Here to read other blogs from the hop!

0 Responses to “The Skin We Live In”



  1. Leave a Comment

Click here to leave a comment!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,133 other followers

Follow the Tweets!

What other moms like…

Month-by-Month

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.


