Remembering the Resurrection


It’s been said the only things that are certain in life are death and taxes. Tax day has come again this year and for most of us we don’t like to think about death and when it will come. The Easter season is a time when we remember how Jesus claimed victory over death. Even if it claims our physical bodies we know Heaven and our Savior will be waiting for us when we’re done with our earthly life.

So along with death and taxes I’d like to add another certainty of life: change.

I’m not a fan of change. I actually argued with my husband when he brought home a DVD player. I couldn’t imagine anything being better than VHS – why would we need to change?! (yes, I am sometimes that difficult to deal with…please pray for my husband)

But change brings a chance to try new things, push ourselves and discover in the end how much strength and hope we really do have. But first we have to be willing to accept and experience the change.

Are there any changes happening in your life right now?

Lately I feel like my life has been full of changes. I’m preparing to go back to work full-time and send my youngest child to kindergarten. I’m hitting the sometimes dreaded mid-thirties and I have to say, my body doesn’t respond to food, exercise or stress the same way it use to! I’m wondering why it is taking so long to finish my second book and what God has in store for my own timeline – I’m learning to be patient.

This is a new season for me and while not all of it is bad – it’s different and different takes energy.

Psalm 25:4-5 has been my focus during this crazy time…

“Show me your ways, O LORD, teach me your paths; guide me in your truth and teach me, for you are God my Savior, and my hope is in you all day long.”

I love how God showed His way through the resurrection. I take hope in the fact that even death couldn’t stop God from initiating his “change agent” – Jesus. If death can’t stop God, what makes me think my concerns, job, or ministry change can stand in his way?

If I really believe God is guiding me down HIS path, why do I continue to try to draw the map?

If I really believe God is trying to teach me, why do I get frustrated when my situation causes me angst?

If I really believe God is my hope, why do I continue to look for physical signs of security and a future?

If I really pray for God to show me His ways, I’ll need to let go of my own.

My resurrection is happening now. I’m learning how to die to self and selfish motives. I’m learning how to “kill” my expectations of this ministry, my writing, my timeline and just follow God. All day long I keep turning my eyes to Jesus, knowing that he is showing, teaching and guiding me – and because of His actions, my hope is secure.

Psalm 25 ends with these words in verse 20:

“Guard my life and rescue me; let me not be put to shame, for I take refuge in you.”

He is my refuge and strength.  Sometimes I have to say it out loud so it becomes real. When the darkness of my situation threatens to overtake me I find a refuge, I’m rescued and God receives all the glory!

God is revealing Himself in a new way to me. He’s become a refuge when I feel lost and overwhelmed. God shows His strength through my husband and friends even though my friends are miles away!

When we remember Christ’s resurrection from the dead we can accept His resurrecting power in our own life. He can bring us back from wherever we are and out of whatever situation we are facing.

How about you? Has God shown you His strength or provided a refuge during a tough time? What is God showing and teaching you?

If you’re comfortable, share in the comments – you’ll encourage all of us and your honesty will help others!
Blessings to you and your family!

Kasey

0 Responses to “Remembering the Resurrection”



  1. Leave a Comment

Click here to leave a comment!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,134 other followers

Follow the Tweets!

What other moms like…

Month-by-Month

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.


