Pavement Praise


It’s a fact… I will never be a track star or Olympic sprinter. This is a fact I can live with. In fact, this past Thanksgiving, when my husband’s Uncle suggested we participate in a 5K together as a family, I laughed at the idea. If someone asked me how often I ran for exercise or for fun, my answer would be simple: “Never”. I thought running was boring, I have terrible knees and I do NOT look good in those tight little running pants I see other women wearing as they sprint down the sidewalk.

As we drove home from Thanksgiving my husband and I started talking about the race that would occur in April. As we talked I started warming up to the idea of adding “running” to my list of Facebook activities.  I found myself wanting to accept the challenge of learning how to run and perhaps even enjoy it. So I started walking. For weeks I walked and slowly the walking was interrupted by stints of running. And now, two months later, I reached one of my goals: running 3 miles in 30 minutes.

What helped me reach my goal?       Music

I knew I’d need help. I understood this transformation into a “runner” wouldn’t happen overnight. What I didn’t expect was the moments of worship and praise I’d encounter along the way.

In the beginning I would start running and become so bored I would almost fall off the treadmill because I was looking around the room for something to keep my focus OFF of the fact that I was indeed – running. My husband suggested making a random playlist of favorite songs in the hopes that a variety of artists and songs would keep me going.

I was at the gym, trudging along on the treadmill, wondering if this was really worth the effort when it happened. One of my favorite songs, “What The World Will Never Take” started blaring in my ears. Hillsong does an amazing job of capturing the praise that is in our heart when we’ve been changed by the power of the cross.  As they sang, “You are the best thing that has happened to me” I found my eyes looking up and filling with tears.

I always thought running was boring. That morning I found it difficult to stay planted on the treadmill, I felt like I could have flown! My spirit was so full of praise and gratitude and my body was responding to this rush of energy, purpose and surrender. The lyrics continued with, “You say You want all of me? I wouldn’t have it any other way!”.  I’m sure the people around me thought I was insane.  I couldn’t stop smiling, singing silently with the band and working hard to keep myself centered on the treadmill belt.

So I have officially released my desire to run with a controlled, disciplined look. I’ve decided to run as though each time my feet hit the pavement and every gasp of air I take can be more than just actions, they can be reactions!  I might look a little funny to some people, but with this change in my spirit has allowed my body to run.

This week I hit my first goal: to run 3 miles in 30 minutes. It was a huge accomplishment for me physically, but even more important was the simple fact that I never once became bored or distracted.  I was too busy thanking God for saving me, loving me, helping me grow and the entire time I never made a sound.

Whether you jog, vacuum, fold laundry or  wash dishes – ANY activity can move from ordinary to extraordinary when we allow God to be in the moment with us.

God cares about us and the little things we complete each day. My worship service happens when I’m running, when could yours happen?  When we let God show His love within our daily life we discover a new way to connect and listen to our Creator.

I hope you are enjoying a new way to connect with God.  To give a lighthearted approach to this topic I would like to leave you with a hilarious episode from the show Friends. Enjoy!

Kasey

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=E_0Ta_DIWuU

2 Responses to “Pavement Praise”


  1. 1 Faith north April 26, 2012 at 11:55 AM

    I can so relate to this. I have never been a runner and am training to run a 5k on mothers day. I need your pavement praise playlist! What songs do you listen to?


Click here to leave a comment!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,134 other followers

Follow the Tweets!

What other moms like…

Month-by-Month

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.


