The Neverending Story


When I was 10-years-old I watched the movie, The NeverEnding Story, based on the 1979 book by Michael Ende. My parents were hesitant to let me watch it, mostly because of its ties to the Anthroposophy way of thinking. In the movie, the land of Fantasia is being destroyed by the Nothing and it’s up to a boy reading the book to save Fantasia, its Empress, the main character Atreyu – all while protecting the AURYN (see picture above).

I’m not a big fan of fantasy literature and I don’t believe in mystical thinking, but this story reminds me of the never-ending tasks mothers oversee and how quickly the “Nothing” can try to steal our joy while we do them. The AURYN in the picture has its own mystical meaning and representation but I would like to borrow this little symbol and apply our own purpose to its form.

MOTTO: In the book and the movie the words “Do what you wish” are inscribed on the back of the AURYN so we’ll start with that element. When I wake up in the morning I have a choice. I can literally do what I wish with my day. This applies to mothers that work outside or inside the home. I want each moment to count in my day – but those moments aren’t going to come on their own. I have to be intentional about how I spend my time and I have to protect my time.

I’m not suggesting we plan every minute of the day and refuse to veer from those plans…I just want to get rid of the afternoons when I look around the house and wonder what happened to my day.  So what’s your motto for your day? Mine changes depending on what the day holds. No matter your goals or motto for the day, I hope your energy is given to people first and projects second – keeping a balance that allows you to enjoy your role without it overwhelming you.

DUAL INFINITY: The snakes are meant to represent the sign for infinity and the connection between reality and the world of imagination. I’m not a fan of snakes, but for now I’m going to make the grey one the amazing amount of chores and tasks that literally NEVER END in my world of keeping a house, meals and car serving ME instead of me serving them.  The gold snake will represent the never-ending time I have to spend with my family. Whether here on earth or in heaven I’ll always be with them. They are amazing people and I’m going to try my best to give them a clean and organized home, but most importantly I don’t want to miss out on spending time with them while we’re living in the same house.

THE NOTHING: In the story, the Nothing is trying to destroy Fantasia and it is succeeding because people in the “real world” don’t use their imagination anymore. This emblem of balance and infinity helps give power to the story’s characters so they can defeat the Nothing. Scrubbing toilets, finding lost socks and cleaning up spills might not seem powerful and amazing – but it is! If we chose to sit around and do nothing what would our family think?  Would they feel or see our love? We aren’t servants, but we serve our family because we love them. One way that we serve is through our day-in, day-out attention to the details that help a home stay functional and yes – fun.

Only God can fill the “nothing” space in our inner being. He alone can make us complete. Once we are complete in Him we are given a wonderful gift of the Holy Spirit that helps us see that every small task and every intentional effort, given in love, is being used to bless our family.

In his devotional book, “My Utmost For His Highest”, Oswald Chambers writes on June 15th: “I must realize that my obedience even in the smallest detail of life has all of the omnipotent power of the grace of God behind it”. God’s power is with us and he can even use our imagination to make all those little tasks a bit more fun and full of joy!

Perhaps this post was a bit of a stretch for your imagination but I appreciate you hanging in there with me.  I think the world we live in, Heaven and Hell are the only reality there is, but for a moment today I enjoyed imagining a reality where laundry folded itself, dishes washed themselves and Cheerios stayed on high chair tray.

Well….back to reality right?

The good news is that you can take the first steps toward getting everything done and NOT sacrifice your sanity or time with family. Don’t believe me?  Take a look at our Smart Moms “Task Tracker” (Task Tracker Template) and see for yourself.  To help you get started I’ve provided the Task Tracker I filled out (Task Tracker Johnson) for me and our family.  Feel free to use mine or create your own.

Print it out, make your own, post it on your mirror and commit to trying it for at least 2 weeks. I’d love to hear your stories of success and discovery – even your suggestions for making this a better resource!  Enjoy!

Kasey

2 Responses to “The Neverending Story”


  1. 1 Shelley Lancaster January 21, 2012 at 5:12 PM

    Thank you Kasey! I needed to hear this as I have been having the feeling to quit being a Mom and see what my family does without me for a day. This puts everything in a wonderful perspective!

    • 2 Kasey Johnson January 21, 2012 at 11:46 PM

      Shelley – hang in there! You are doing great! Thank you for taking time to comment and for being a part of this community – you are awesome!


Click here to leave a comment!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,133 other followers

Follow the Tweets!

What other moms like…

Month-by-Month

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.


