We Made It!


Well, 2011 is coming to a close and I have to say I am thrilled to see what 2012 has in store!

If you receive our newsletter you know that I had goals and activities set up for this month (to read the entire post click here)…to review they were:

Week of December 5th: Finish decorating Christmas tree, hanging lights and decorating inside the house … Make Banana Bread … Play educational games on the computer

Week of December 12th: Play Doh creations … Make a Pecan Pie … Make cards and gifts for teachers

Week of December 19th: Take boys to dollar store to pick out gifts for family members (this is a tradition where the boys get to choose a gift that is just from them to each grandparent and to us) … Make a fort … make cinnamon rolls from scratch

Week of December 26th: Painting … Find a place for new toys

So here’s an update on how that plan worked out:

Each week I was amazed at those moments when I saw the boys starting to get on each other’s nerves or getting edgy from being inside all the time. When the moment happened I didn’t get frustrated with them, I turned to my plan. The only thing we didn’t accomplish was the pecan pie and that’s okay.

I make plans in case I need them not because I have to do them. We also added something – I found these great little activity sets at Wal-Mart. They were cheap and had all the parts in them.  I kept them up high in our closet and when the boys were dying to open the presents they could see under the tree I pulled these out – it was awesome to see the boys create something and yet I didn’t have to take them to the store or try to make something old seem exciting – it was a $15 investment that saved my sanity!

This week we are finding new homes for all the toys the boys got for Christmas. I love this part of the holiday, here’s why:

If you have read anything I’ve written or heard me speak you know I’m a huge believer in containers that have lids.  The lids are important because they provide limits to the amount of items inside. Just today the boys had some tough choices to make, but they couldn’t argue with a container…so it wasn’t dramatic or difficult.  They kept trying to put in their new toys with their old and although we cleaned everything out back in October, some of the toys they opened are bigger or have more pieces than they were expecting.

The rule in our house is that the lid has to latch closed. The boys were more than happy to get rid of some of the old toys on the bottom of the bin in order to make room for the new, exciting toys.  You see – my goal for this week was not only realistic, but necessary. Once the boys go back to school next week it will be even tougher to keep them focused on putting things away and keeping them organized.

The pictures on some of our bins have changed and that’s a good thing! I didn’t have to buy new containers, just switched things around. I’ve never organized so many Bay Blades, Star Wars characters or Monster Trucks; but alas that is my world now and it’s a good thing 😮

We didn’t end up painting at all this week – mostly because we stayed in Texas for an extra day and that was the right thing to do for all of us.  So I let it go – I don’t feel like a failure because something I had planned wasn’t accomplished…nope – I’m glad I did what I needed to do to help everyone have a great vacation week and I could relax because I knew if things got tough I had some options.

I’m sure you can look back at this month and see how having a plan made memorable instead of stressful moments. If you have a strategy or activity you used this past month would you mind sharing it with us?  I love to have new ideas and hear what you are doing with your kids and the stuff in your house.

2012 is going to be awesome and you guys have helped make my 2011 fantastic! We’ve made it this far and I know we’re going to make great things happen next year too.  Thank you for being so wonderful!

Kasey

2 Responses to “We Made It!”


  1. 1 Debbie January 27, 2012 at 8:38 PM

    Hi Kasey – just wanted to let you know how much I enjoyed you’re original post about plans for December (I even used it in our MOPS newsletter) and this update. Thank you! –Debbie

    • 2 Kasey Johnson January 28, 2012 at 4:07 PM

      Debbie, thanks for taking time to write! You are doing a great job with your MOPS group and I’ve loved getting to hear from so many different groups! Did you see the Task Tracker? Your group might like that resource too – it’s in the post “The NeverEnding Story” – have a great day!
      Kasey


Click here to leave a comment!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,133 other followers

Follow the Tweets!

What other moms like…

Month-by-Month

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.


