True Promises


Have you ever been up against something so huge, so overwhelming; that you thought there was no way around it?

To be honest, our family is up against “it” right now.  What the issue is really doesn’t matter.  What matters is who is in charge of my responses to the whole thing.

You see, I’m a type A. I make plans, I take initiative and I don’t like hearing that I “can’t” do something.  But there are times, as much as I hate to admit it, that I face something I truly CANNOT fix or even understand.

So where do I go for comfort and perspective during these overwhelming moments? Music.

As a former choir teacher I find myself drawn to the power of music.  I’ve seen music bring Junior Highers to tears, help a mourning parent smile and bring a diverse group of people into unity.

Music is powerful all by itself, but if you pair it with truths from scripture – well….you better hold on!!!

During the worship time at our church we started with one of my favorite hymns: “How Great Thou Art”.  As I was singing I found I couldn’t hold back the tears or the smile on my face because you see, MY God is GREATER than this thing I’m up against. MY God can handle it and MY God is with me every step of the way.

I was praising God for this beautiful reminder during our worship time when the band started playing one of my favorite songs, “Always” by Kristian Stanfill.  I’ve put the words below along with a link to the recording on YouTube.

As Mothers we shoulder responsibilities and burdens that can, at times, seem absolutely overwhelming. No matter where you are today I pray you’ll hold on to the promise of how incredibly GREAT our God is and the truth that our soul can find rest in Him.

We’re in this together Sister and I praise my God for knowing where you are, where I am and how to help each of us in His perfect way.

Let’s lift our eyes up, receive the help that comes from the Lord and live a life full of praise no matter what we are facing! We can do this!

Blessings to you and your family!

Kasey

Lyrics for the song ALWAYS :

My foes are many, they rise against me, but I will hold my ground I will not fear the war, I will not fear the storm. My help is on the way.

Oh, my God, He will not delay. My refuge and strength always. I will not fear, His promise is true! My God will come through always!

Troubles surround me, chaos abounding my soul will rest in You. I will not fear the war, I will not fear the storm. My help is on the way.

Shout it, go on and scream it from the mountains! Go on and tell it to the masses that He is good!

I lift my eyes up, my help comes from the Lord!

Listen to the song “Always”

2 Responses to “True Promises”


  1. 2 Patricia Vann October 25, 2011 at 2:08 PM

    Yes- what a wonderful reminder: Thanks- we are never alone in our work- our work is HIS and HE is always in HIS work!
    Patricia


Click here to leave a comment!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,134 other followers

Follow the Tweets!

What other moms like…

Month-by-Month

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.


