Well, It Happened…


Our youngest guy, James, headed to his first week of preschool with excitement, energy and curiosity.  I was sad to see my guy start this path toward his formal schooling years – he’s my last baby!  But alas, the day came when I said good-bye and he had a fantastic time with his preschool teachers.

It was the second day of school and as I waited for him to be dismissed from class I noticed his teachers peering through the classroom window and pointing in my direction.

I could feel in my gut that something wasn’t right as one teacher headed straight towards me with a smile on her face, asking if I was James’ mommy.

After introducing herself she said, “I needed to let you know about a little incident we had in class today”.  Suddenly words like bite, lie, steal and destroy were running through my head.  The thing was, James is the most gentle of all my boys – especially when it comes to authority figures.  He doesn’t want to create issues or disappoint anyone.  So I asked, “What happened?!”

She filled me in: “We were having snack and as I sat with the children I commented on how yummy our snack was – that I thought it was my favorite!  That’s when James declared to the rest of the room: ‘Yeah! It’s d*** good!'”

My jaw dropped, how could this have happened!?  Although his teachers were giggling I was NOT!  I immediately began defending our family’s moral values, choice of movies and music…I probably sounded like an overprotective, defensive prude.

His teacher was very gracious and treated the whole thing with humor…they told me they’ve heard everything and not to worry.  He truly didn’t know what he was saying – but I was still focused on the fact that he said it at all!

So there I was, standing in the lobby of this lovely Christian preschool it shock. Maybe I overreacted, maybe I took it too personally – but I just didn’t see this one coming.

Thankfully we haven’t had any more “issues” arise at school (except a couple little girls that have influenced James to request hair gel and cologne) and hopefully it will continue to be that way.

I hope I’m not the only one that’s had an embarrassing or shocking issue arise when my children are under the care of someone else….I just hope that next time I won’t stumble over my words and simply apologize with grace and dignity 😮

If you have a story would you share it with us?  I think it would do me good to hear I’m not alone 😮

3 Responses to “Well, It Happened…”


  1. 1 Jenn L. October 8, 2011 at 3:38 PM

    Kasey I have a story that just happened this past friday. I wasn’t really planning on sharing with anyone, but it might make you feel better, so…
    My 3 year old son was playing soccer on Friday, and one of the mom’s was out with her son who wasn’t paying attention. All the kids were sitting with the mom when it wasn’t there turn to do the drill. My son was talking to her, and asked her, “what’s under your shirt?” She said, “I don’t know, what?” To which my son replied, “boobies!”
    I have NO idea where he heard this and still haven’t figured out where that came from. I was pretty embarassed, but everyone else thought it was pretty funny.
    I hope that one brings a smile to your face because mine was a bit red!

  2. 3 Shanta' October 8, 2011 at 2:54 PM

    Oh Kasey, thank so much for sharing! I really thought the story was going to end with James giving some great lesson from the Bible. Even though that didn’t happen this time, I know you lead your life by the Lord and that it WILL happen in the future. Thanks for the laugh and now I know when (yes when not if) this happens to me I need to “simply apologize with grace and dignity”.


Click here to leave a comment!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,133 other followers

Follow the Tweets!

What other moms like…

Month-by-Month

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.


