Winterize


I remember my Grandfather winterizing their home.  He’d start the process mid-October and be done long before the first snowfall came.  He would bring in all the hoses (disconnecting them so they wouldn’t freeze and crack), empty the gas out of the mower to keep the lines for being damaged, trim all the shrubs and trees back and stalk up on salt, shovels, electric heaters and anything else they might need in case a blizzard came calling.

I was always amazed that ANYTHING needed to be done before Winter. Didn’t everything just go dead under the frozen ground and snow-white landscape?

Then I started thinking about it…all of nature starts to winterize about this same time, why shouldn’t we!?!

Whether it’s a squirrel gathering acorns, a bear fattening up for his hibernation or the trees shedding their leaves and going dormant, all of nature prepares themselves for the winter season.

Whether you live in a cold-weather state or not we all have days when we are forced to be inside.  When a child is sick, it’s raining or the weather is too harsh we can become overwhelmed by the 4 walls of our home acting as vice grips to our free spirits.

So it’s time to winterize our thoughts, our plans and our weeks…

Even if you don’t like to make specific plans – I encourage you to just have some ideas in the back of your mind that you can refer to in situations where you are forced to abandon the outside/get-energy-out/save-my-mind playtime.

Each winter I get out my calendar and write down just ONE activity, ONE game and/or ONE goal for the week.  Can you write more than one?  ABSOLUTELY! But if you don’t get everything covered don’t feel guilty, just move it to the next week.

Here are some examples from my current calendar:

Week of December 5th: Finish decorating Christmas tree, hanging lights and decorating inside the house Make Banana Bread Play educational games on the computer

Week of December 12th: Play Doh creations Make a Pecan Pie Make cards and gifts for teachers

Week of December 19th: Take boys to dollar store to pick out gifts for family members (this is a tradition where the boys get to choose a gift that is just from them to each grandparent and to us) … Make a fort make cinnamon rolls from scratch

Week of December 26th: Painting Find a place for new toys

So, when I see my boys starting to pick at each other and they are sick and tired of being inside I will revert to one of these activities or goals and most importantly I’ll make it FUN and OPTIONAL.  No child wants to be forced into participating – but I’ve found that if I have everything set up and ready to go they are happy to jump right in.

I think cooking is easier to do in the winter because they aren’t wanting to run outside and play – they are happy to help measure, pour, stir and yes – enjoy their creation 😮

There are lots of resources and helpful sites on-line.  If you have a favorite site or activity could you leave it here on the blog as a comment? 

Don’t forget to visit our Facebook page by clicking here and discover how you could win a brand new game from Simply Fun!  They have some amazing activities that will make winter wonderful for you and your family!

Now let’s get to winterizing our weeks so that NOTHING will be able to steal our joy!

Can’t wait to hear your ideas, see your pictures and learn more from you!

Kasey

5 Responses to “Winterize”


  1. 1 Leann Neyhart November 19, 2011 at 10:02 AM

    Thanks for the good reminder! We live in Minnesota where we can have weeks below zero weather- I dread those days where there’s too much snow to get out of the driveway or frostbite dangers- because I go stircrazy with two small, very active boys in the house all day. 🙂 I think I will put some things on the calendar to get ready for those days! Could you have some links to your suggested activities, e.g. the playdough activity, or a recipe for the cinnamon rolls? Thanks, Leann from MN

    • 2 Kasey Johnson November 20, 2011 at 9:09 PM

      Leann – great suggestions for the specific links! I’ll work on those and get them out asap! Have a great day and I hope the winter isn’t too tough on all of you up there!

  2. 3 Debbie October 26, 2011 at 7:10 PM

    Hi – I just started reading your blog today and I think it’s WONDERFUL! I really like this post. I recently took my daughter to the pediatrician for a well child visit. The doctor told me that many kids don’t get enough exercise over the winter, so I should come up with a plan for winter exercise. I think I’ll take your idea of making specific plans for winter weeks and just add in exercise opportunities. Thanks for sharing!

  3. 4 Laura October 7, 2011 at 8:26 AM

    Hi, Kasey….When you came to my church about 5 months back I remember all the purses you showed us in life. The one I was most intriqued about was the very last one….the small one where my husband and I will be all alone without children. I want to be able to have that fun little purse to take with me but if my husband and I do not continue to stay friends during our child rearing days, there will not be a purse. I appreciate you being real with us. You are right and as hard as it is to keep our relationship fresh with small children, we have to do it so we can enjoy each other when the kids are all gone. Thank you so much for what you do!

  4. 5 Dee Curtis October 6, 2011 at 12:31 PM

    Mmmmmmm…and your Pecan Pie and Cinnamon Rolls are the BEST!!!!! You are making me hungry for them and also making me miss more than I already do. Love you!!!!


Click here to leave a comment!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,134 other followers

Follow the Tweets!

What other moms like…

Month-by-Month

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.


