What’s In A Decade


There are very few moments when a time, place and event are ingrained in our mind forever.  Moments I remember with extreme clarity include (but aren’t limited to), learning my best friend in 4th grade was killed in a car accident, our wedding, the birth of each of our children, the first concert I directed and…hearing that our country had been attacked by terrorists.

The moments from that horrific day 10 years ago have stayed with me for many reasons, but mostly because I was pregnant with our first child. Returning from work, glued to the television I watched our country join together in grief, outrage and strength.

I watched our congress gather on the steps of the capital building and sing a rousing rendition of a hymn, that night my husband and I looked at each other and wondered what kind of world our baby was going to be a part of.  Everything seemed so big, so impossible and so incredibly sad.

Whether I’m going through airport security, hearing the number of lives lost during war, or watching the personal stories and timelines from that day; I realize how much has changed in the last decade.

My children’s “normal” is totally different, not because of technology or leadership in the white house – but because we thought we were safe and were shown that we’re only as safe as the world LETS us be – my kids are September 11 babies and their world is a new experience for all of us.

So here’s my question: What are we going to do with the NEXT 10 years?

Just as I’ll never forget about the attacks on the world trade center I hope to never forget that my children are under attack too.

I want my children to know that yes, there is evil in the world and yes, that evil will try to find them … but they have a defense that no one, nothing and no amount of time can erode…

In John 17:15-16 Jesus said, “My prayer is not that you take them out of the world but that you protect them from the evil one. They are not of the world, even as I am not of it.”

Sometimes I think God protects our kids through us. He gives us wisdom and nudges our spirit.  Whether it’s a television show that looks innocent enough or a song on the radio – we have to be proactive, alert and sensitive to the needs of our children.

I’m not suggesting we cut our kids off from anything worldly – look at the first part of Jesus’ words: “My prayer is NOT that you take them out of the world…”

I’ll be the first one to help my children learn about the world they live in, how to make that world a better place and what to do when the world we live in begins to show its true colors.

I want my children to know the reasons behind their beliefs. Ten years from now I pray that I’ve been an example of how to live in the world but not be of it.

A decade from now I’ll have a 20-year-old son.  Who knows where he’ll be in life or what choices he will make – but I pray I can be the right parent for him and his brothers between now and then.

I watched terrorists try to scare this country.  Thankfully we didn’t scare easily and well – neither do I.  I will not fear the evil that exists in our world.  I will not shy away from experiencing life because of the “what ifs” that might accompany those experiences.  I will trust that my God created this world, my family and our life for a purpose that is greater than any attack we might endure.  I will hold strong to God’s promise to provide me strength to endure whatever might come our way.

I am praying for your family, my family and all of us working hard to raise children that know who they are in a world that is still searching for a way to live in peace.

I hope that 10 years from now I can write a post celebrating how far we’ve come as a society and how grateful I am for the moms that helped it all happen through their prayers, efforts and energy.

You are blessing to this world and so are your children!

Kasey

0 Responses to “What’s In A Decade”



  1. Leave a Comment

Click here to leave a comment!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,133 other followers

Follow the Tweets!

What other moms like…

Month-by-Month

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.


