There is a Season


This weekend I celebrated my birthday. I turned 35 and I have to say… it feels good.  Maybe it’s the nostalgic sentiments that accompany birthday celebrations, but the song “Turn! Turn! Turn!” has been running through my mind all week.  A group called The Byrds sang it in the 60’s (click here to listen) and even though they sounded more like the Beatles than Lawrence Welk – the song is based on a scripture: Ecclesiastes 3:1-8. One of the lines says, “To everything turn, turn, turn. There is a season turn, turn, turn. And a time to every purpose under Heaven”.

And a time to every purpose under Heaven…what a great line! I will never claim to have the wisdom of King Solomon but I’m starting to gain some serious perspective when it comes to time and purpose – especially when it comes to being a mom.

The short time I’ve spent on earth has been full of high, low and in-between moments. The Byrds sang, “There is a season” and I’ve been thinking about some of the seasons in my life: getting my first job, falling in love, losing a job, holding our son in my arms, losing a child, seeing
my dreams become a reality, saying good-bye to aging family members…

I could go on and on, but the point to all of this reflection and memories is this: during each of these seasons, each emotion, each moment along the way; one thing has been constant…

My friends.

I moved a lot growing up so I learned how to make friends quickly and how to say good-bye.  When I went to college I discovered a new kind of friendship that was based more on people’s character than activities.  We weren’t friends because we shared the same major or played the same sport.  My circle of friends was formed through one goal – to know more about who we were in Christ and how we could help each other grow.

During one season of my life I was so depressed I literally couldn’t get out of bed. One very special friend pulled me out of that pit and even though miles might one day separate us and time will press on; our friendship is grounded and secure.

I treasure the women who have seen me in the good, bad, ugly and real moments of my life.  They are why, even when it feels like my world keeps turning and turning; I can stay standing.

So, to my friends, old and new – thank you for letting God use you to mold me into the wife, mother and friend that I am today – you are a
blessing to me and to everyone that knows you!

I hope you are in a season of peace, growth and joy. If you aren’t – remember that God sent His Son to earth so that our seasons between now and
Heaven will be a little easier to handle. Christ knows what it feels like to be exhausted, misunderstood, alone, betrayed and denied.  But the REALLY great part is that this same God that walked with us on earth has everything we need to carry us through each season. I see God’s hand in the women I meet.  He’s given each of us a chance to connect with other moms – we just have to reach out and take it!   We gain strength from each other and it’s one of the few places where being real is really the only way to be.  It’s a beautiful thing to complete a season of life with other moms just like us.

Thank you for being on this journey with me, with all the women in our Smarter Moms community and for ministering to your family day-in and
day-out…you are amazing!

Kasey

3 Responses to “There is a Season”


  1. 1 Kimberly Rupert August 26, 2011 at 8:28 PM

    Kasey,

    Thank you…I always link back to the source on the digital newsletter. I will definitely add that they can subscribe to the blog. Yes, I believe I am receiving your newsletter, the last one had something about bowling with bottles in it….I’ll definitely poke around your blog!

    Thank you Again!

  2. 2 Kimberly Rupert August 26, 2011 at 11:55 AM

    Kasey,
    Thank you for this post. Life does stink sometimes and we all have been in those deep down depressed moods and thankfully we have an Angel who brings us out of them! I saw you at the MOPS convention and thought your session was great! I’m the publicity chair for my MOPS group and was wondering if I could use your post today as our September newsletter article…I think all Mom’s need to know that there are seasons in our lives and we can make of them what we want, either good or bad. Your 2nd to last paragraph is really what made me say I want to use this as our 1st official meeting’s article…what a great way to start building new relationships with new & old friends in our lives.
    Thanks!
    Kimberly

    • 3 Kasey Johnson August 26, 2011 at 2:34 PM

      Kimberly –
      Thank you so much for taking time to leave a comment and for wanting to use this with your group – feel free to use it. Just a thought – you might find more posts and resources to use in the future by typing in key words in the search box on our homepage. There are almost 2 years worth of posts on here and some of them might fit other needs you have. All I ask is that you have my website referenced and maybe let all the women in your group know that they can subscribe to our blog – we’d love to hear from more moms! You are wonderful – good luck with the beginning of your year! I had a blast in Nashville – everyone was so wonderful! Hopefully you are getting our newsletter too – there’s other resources and articles through that monthly resource – have a great day!
      Kasey


Click here to leave a comment!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,133 other followers

Follow the Tweets!

What other moms like…

Month-by-Month

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.


