Father Knows Best?


I’m all for the idea that Fathers know a lot about tools, life, nature, cars, even love….but THIS time when my boys said, “It’s okay, we’ll just ask Dad.” I was stopped in my tracks.  Here’s why:

Our cousin was expecting a baby – the first grandchild on that side of the family and everyone was VERY excited.  She was one of those really cute pregnant girls – you know, the ones that don’t look pregnant until you see their profile? Yeah – she’s one of those.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m happy for her – just wondering why God didn’t make my bone structure compatible with carrying a baby and looking cute….

Anyway, as I was driving down the road I got the call that she was headed to the hospital with consistent contractions.  I went on to share with our boys that our cousin had gone to the hospital and we were all hoping that baby would be born soon.  That’s when the questions started…

The first few were easy:  Was it a boy or girl? Where was the hospital? Could they go and see the baby?  And then the big one:

“How does she know the baby is ready to be born?”   I took a deep breath at that moment and my mind started to race.

Let me give you some background concerning my response…

In the past my boys have asked me questions about their bodies, other people’s bodies, how things work in our bodies, etc.  Every time they ask I feel it is my duty as their mother (and as an educator) to fully brief them on all details and related topics in order to give them a complete answer. 

After hearing some of my explanations, my husband (in a gracious and kind way) informed me that I was giving WAAAAAYYY too much information for their young minds.  So we have an agreement (it was his idea and I think he’s right).  If the kids ask me a question that has to do with physiological development or issues I am to simply say; “Because God made you/it/them/those that way.” and STOP TALKING!!!!

The last part (stop talking) is kind of difficult for me but it has saved me from sharing too much at the wrong time.  If they keep pressing the issue I send them to their Dad or pray for LOTS of wisdom and understanding concerning what to and what not to share.

So there I was, sitting in the front seat of the van and the boys ask, “How does she know the baby is ready to be born?”

I pushed against my urge to explain all the horrid details of contractions and simply sais, “Because God made mommies that way, they just know.”

“But mom, HOW do you know?!”

I couldn’t walk away from this one so I started simple:

“Well, when it’s time for a baby to be born the mommy feels contractions.”

“Contractions!? What are those!?!?”

It took me a while to decide which adjectives to filter and which ones to share while reflecting on the pain, turmoil and anguish that accompanied the contractions I endured.  As I was prioritizing and editing my options the boys interrupted my thoughts when they said:

“It’s okay, we’ll just ask Dad what contractions feel like.”

I started laughing out loud and was able to say, with a smile on my face, “That’s a GREAT idea!”

I have a feeling he’ll say, “That’s just how God made Mommies” and I think that’s a great answer…for now 😮

The best part about being a Mom is barely remembering the pain in light of the amazing blessings that God brings through our kids.  It’s a good day to answer questions, be real and in my case – laugh 😮

I hope you have lots of reasons to smile, laugh and remember the beautiful parts of motherhood all day long because – “That’s the way God made you!” 

Kasey

3 Responses to “Father Knows Best?”


  1. 1 momoftwins06 October 24, 2011 at 11:11 PM

    Funny! My kids are so confused! I m a surrogate…talk about questions! 🙂 they have a general understanding. Her tummy is “broken”, so the doctor puts her baby in my belly just to grow, then when it is big enough, the doctor takes it out of my belly and they take their baby home. They are getting smart at age 5! My daughter asked me where the baby comes from that the doctor puts in…stopped me in my tracks! Daddy came up with some answer like dirt mixed with water and I don’t remember the rest. Whenever we see a pregnant person, it is totally embarrassing….the questions start…Does she have one baby or two? (I have carried twins twice) Is she going to keep her baby? My daughter never wants to have kids now because she doesn’t want to have to have her belly cut open, and my son wants to have 100 kids so he can sell them! Ahhhhhh! 🙂 Kasey, you are doing great, but I think need help! 🙂

  2. 2 portedo March 24, 2011 at 3:27 PM

    I may not know best…but I know easiest 🙂

  3. 3 jillbluel March 24, 2011 at 12:27 PM

    You made me laugh!!! Funny! I would love to hear Dad’s answer to that question! ha!
    Great writing-you are always so encouraging. Keep it up!


Click here to leave a comment!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,134 other followers

Follow the Tweets!

What other moms like…

Month-by-Month

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.


