The Cut


A few weeks ago I shared our dilemma with James’ hair.  It is beautiful, red and well – I have learned from experience that when you cut a boy’s hair and everyone can see their forehead they suddenly look like a teenager! Okay, so maybe that’s a little drastic but I was truly dreading the big cut because it was just one more reminder that my little guy is growing up and there’s NOTHING I can do to stop it.  This weekend he turns 4 and I was headed to get my hair cut and he quietly mentioned that he thought it was time for his hair to be cut too.  So without much drama, regalia or announcements we did it – well, Janie did it, I just watched in awe.

Tomorrow morning we are headed to play group and I can’t wait to hear and see everyone’s reaction – James’ hair has been a huge part of his personality! So with tears in my eyes and video camera in hand I trusted my sweet boy in the hands of our amazing stylist – Janie.  She talked me through it, let me take pictures.  She even asked if I was doing okay – I felt like such a needy mom – but nevertheless she helped me enjoy the whole process. 

So the entire haircut is documented, bit by bit, on our video camera and I will cherish that little moment of growth and transition forever.  It might sound silly, but I really do think that even now as I say goodbye to a phase of life represented by his long beautiful hair, I’m reminded that he’s not mine. I don’t own him or his future and no matter how hard I might try to I can NOT stop time. My brain knows these things but sometimes my heart is slow to catch up.  

My kids are gifts, not idols to be worshipped, coddled and frozen in time – nope – these are beautiful individuals that God is trusting me with and I don’t take that lightly.  So whether it’s saying goodbye to his long hair, walking away from his kindergarten classroom or dropping him off at college I’m going to let myself grieve – even if it’s just for a moment – and enjoy each moment of this journey.

My sweet baby James isn’t a baby anymore and I’m excited to see what’s next!

so…what do you think?  It’s okay if you don’t like it – it’ll grow back – but seriously – what do you think of his new look!?!?!?

6 Responses to “The Cut”


  1. 1 legosinmycoffee December 16, 2010 at 9:52 PM

    OK, so I tried to read this out loud to my husband- the keyword there is TRIED- but had to stop because I was sobbing! It’s so true, our children are not for us to idolize, but to tend to until they leave our arms and chase their dreams in the big, big world. I love you, sweet James! And your mommy’s pretty amazing, too:)

    • 2 Kasey Johnson December 17, 2010 at 1:31 AM

      You are too precious – I had tears too, but you’re right – it’s nice to get a little perspective isn’t it? I love the fact that we can share stories with each other and know we aren’t alone. Thanks for taking time to share your thoughts…they make my day!

  2. 3 realnice December 15, 2010 at 11:38 AM

    Love it! All I can say is… it is amazing what the change in the haircut does for him. Suddenly, he caries simmiliar look to Matthew & Tyler.

    Welcome to boyhood, young James. Don’t worry, Santa still knows who you are.

    🙂 ANDREW

    • 4 Kasey Johnson December 17, 2010 at 1:32 AM

      Andrew! So good to hear from you and I loved the Santa comment – maybe Santa will bring him a stocking cap for Christmas – I think his head is extra cold these days 🙂

  3. 5 michaeldgreen December 15, 2010 at 5:36 AM

    I like it. What a cute guy you have there!

  4. 6 moonbeamscoupons December 15, 2010 at 12:16 AM

    Way to go MOM! You deserve a pat on the back for letting him decide and allowing him to take control. It is wonderful to see in our children, maturity. And for you… you are right, they are not ours to keep, just to watch over with caring hearts. He looks AWESOME! (and grown up!)


Click here to leave a comment!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,133 other followers

Follow the Tweets!

What other moms like…

Month-by-Month

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.


