I Can’t Even Imagine!


There is NOTHING in the world that can compare to losing a child – I don’t care how old they are.  I think the sting of a miscarriage, the loss of a toddler or the loss of an adult child can be one of the most difficult things to get through.  You never get over it, you never forget – so how do people go on?

The children in this picture were featured on Oprah a couple of weeks ago.  Beautiful, innocent children – taken to Heaven in an instant when an 18-wheeler smashed into their minivan.  Their mother and grandmother survived, but her life would never be the same.  I was impressed by the parents of these children.  They were unified in their desire to heal and move forward as a couple (to read the full story click here).  They are truly amazing.

Their story was tough to watch.  Matt and I were both in tears as we listened to this precious mom and dad remember their children.  These kind of stories are hard to hear but Matt and I were glad we kept watching.  The end of this story is truly amazing.  You see, because this couple decided to keep living, even with the grief of burying 3 children; they were able to experience a true miracle in the birth of their triplets – two girls and a boy.  These newborns will never replace the children they lost, but I think their presence will help this sweet couple find comfort and joy as they move through the future together.

So the first thing I thought of after hearing this story was all the little things that I FREAKED out about during the day when it came to things my kids did.  Things like dumping out the entire container of stuffed animals and leaving them there – things that do NOT matter.  I don’t think it’s okay to run around making a mess of things and not cleaning up, but did I really need to get upset about it?  NO! I have my kids – I can hug and kiss them any time I want – my life is SO blessed.

So my perspective has been adjusted, once again, and it’s a good thing.  I’m so sad for that sweet family – but I’m so thankful that they were brave enough to share their journey and let me learn from it.  Too often I find myself needing to listen to my own advice.  When we are in the daily struggles that come from kids, schedules and responsibilities it can be really easy to overlook the blessings in our life.

So today, at some point, stop what you are doing and just watch your kids play. Turn the radio off and listen to their imagination take flight. And most importantly – give them a HUGE hug and tell them how special they are.  We might not know how many days we have here on earth, but I know what to do with each one and I’m going to work really hard to stay focused on the blessings in my life and let them know how much I love them!

You are a blessing to me – thanks for giving me a reason to write, for encouraging me when I get to meet so many of you and for leaving comments here on the blog.  Have a fantastic day!

Kasey

0 Responses to “I Can’t Even Imagine!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Click here to leave a comment!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,133 other followers

Follow the Tweets!

What other moms like…

Month-by-Month

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.


