Why Thunder?


So I’ve had a couple of friends ask why I chose thunder to describe the 3rd year of a child’s life.  I quickly realized that while writing my last post I got so deep into comparing 2 and 3 year olds I forgot to talk about the analogy that truly makes these sweet little people members of the “Thunderous Three” club.

You know, you can’t have thunder without lightning.  When lightning strikes it heats the air at such a high rate that when it cools it actually contracts and makes a BOOM.  Even when you don’t hear thunder you know it’s there – just too far away for our ears to hear.  Sometimes we don’t see the lightning, but there’s no way to escape the wall-shaking, rumble-creating presence of thunder.

My James can sometimes erupt in thunder and I NEVER saw the lightning.  I’m learning how to see the lightning.  I’m remembering how to help a sweet little boy name his emotions instead of letting them overtake him. 

So yes – thunder. It’s loud, but usually short-lived.  We can’t stop it, but we can keep it from shaking everything around us and scaring us…

Each day our “storms” are lessening in their intensity and regularity – so that’s a wonderful praise!  I’m just trying to remember that when the thunder hits I can’t let that moment define the potential that my little boy holds.  He’s still learning, I’m still learning – and together we are going to enjoy this journey – come rain or shine!

Thanks for taking time to read, to leave comments and to be a part of this crazy thing called motherhood with me!  You guys are wonderful!

Kasey

0 Responses to “Why Thunder?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Click here to leave a comment!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,134 other followers

Follow the Tweets!

What other moms like…

Month-by-Month

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.


