On Your Mark, Get Set…


You probably wanted to finish that statement with a loud, resounding – “GO!” … Right now I feel the same way. 

I’m excited, I’m ready and I’m anxious to see what this new school year brings. This is new for me. I’ve never had two kids gone all day at school and for the first time James will be headed to preschool.  I’m not really thrilled with James leaving me – he’s my last boy, my last “baby”, and the only one that doesn’t have knuckles yet (knuckles are a serious milestone in my eyes – they mean all semblance of baby fat is gone).

So this is my last full week with these precious boys at home and we are making the most of it.  I’ve never built so many forts, spent so much time at the pool or enjoyed watching them play army and construction truck so much.  Last week I was really sad that they were leaving me for the classroom – but this week I’m starting to see the light of what my new life could look like.

Suddenly I’m going to have two days a week to focus on my jobs, my house and all the things on my to-do list .  This is HUGE!

I’m ready to GO! I’m ready to run into this new weekly schedule with energy and excitement.  What will this new life be like?  What are the challenges and joys going to be?

I don’t know – but I’m excited to find out.

Isn’t it fantastic!? Right when I think I have it all together – when I know what our days are going to look like – it all changes. 

Change is good…

… it reminds me I really don’t control everything

… it keeps me from being stagnant and dull

… it strips me of my pride and my ego

… it helps me appreciate the moment I’m in and look forward to the moments that are coming.

Change can bring a wave of emotions – so I’m choosing to hang on to the emotions of excitement, anticipation and peace.  While my kids experience new teachers and friends I’ll be learning new things too. 

So here we go – a new adventure is waiting and for now, I’m excited.

Anyone else preparing for a new adventure? 

Share your plan, your feelings, your adventure with us – I’d love to hear  your insights!

Kasey

1 Response to “On Your Mark, Get Set…”


  1. 1 Kasey Johnson August 18, 2010 at 4:14 PM

    I have been loving everyone’s pictures, comments and emotions that have been showing up on Facebook today – it’s a BIG day for lots of mommies out there. Girls – keep your heads up, enjoy hearing the stories when they come home! You guys are wonderful!


Click here to leave a comment!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,134 other followers

Follow the Tweets!

What other moms like…

Month-by-Month

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.


