Lock and Load


Okay – the gloves are comin’ off and the armor is going on!  I’m not heading to the front lines of a war, I’m heading into the final weeks of summer vacation.

I don’t know what it is about the impending school year, but my precious, patient, compassionate children have morphed into a combination of short fuses and physical attackers.

Okay, they aren’t killing each other – yet – but it AMAZES me to have to remind them, almost on a daily basis, of what it means to treat each other with respect, kindness and basic human decency!

Call it cabin-fever, call it roadtrip-rage…call it whatever you want…all I know is that I’m changing my tactics and I’m READY!

So I’ll give you my plan here and we’ll see if it works:

* I will not yell

* I will touch them, talk to them and try really hard to listen to everyone involved

* I will not be sucked into their drama, I will remain calm, cool and collected

* I will bring them into ANOTHER room and separate them immediately so they don’t feed off each other’s whining

* I will take deep breaths, speak slowly and keep a perspective that is realistic

So there’s my plan. To some it might seem pretty basic, but right now I’m having a hard time remembering the basics. I love making a plan and feeling prepared before going into these situations, so I hope my strategies work.

You know, some of my best strategies have come from the time I spend in quiet, by myself, with the Lord.  I read about how He will help me carry my burdens (Matthew 11:29-30) and scripture tells me I am a conqueror! (Romans 8:37)

So here I go – my plan is set and my armor is on (Ephesians 6:10-12) and I’m ready!

btw – click on any of the bible references and you’ll see the full text – pretty cool reading if I do say so myself  – God knows what He’s talking about  – thank goodness!    😮

0 Responses to “Lock and Load”



  1. Leave a Comment

Click here to leave a comment!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,133 other followers

Follow the Tweets!

What other moms like…

Month-by-Month

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.


