Perspective


I remember when our boys were newborns I had the most terrible nightmares about what MIGHT happen to them.  everything from burning water falling on them to someone kidnapping them when my back was turned.  These dreams were exhausting, scary and WAY too real for my taste. 

Matt use to have to wake me up because I was digging through our covers trying to find the “baby” I thought was in there being suffocated.  Now before you think I’m a complete nutcase, I have been thinking about those early days of motherhood and how even my subconscious was stressed out about all the “what-ifs” of life with a baby.

I know I can’t control everything, but I think I can safely say that most mothers hope to protect their children from unneccessary stress, pain or injury when they can.  No matter the age of our children I’m sure this desire never goes away – at least I hope it doesn’t!

Last month Matt and I traveled to Dallas to celebrate our 10 year anniversary and to see some of our family that lives in the area.  The newest member of our family was born the day of our arrival!  What a special gift to go to the hospital in Dallas and hold our sweet baby cousin – Zeb.  As I held him I was transported back to the breath-stealing awe that comes with holding a newborn in your arms.  I smelled his head, brushed his cheek and watched him smile in his sleep – I even had tears in my eyes as I thought about my boys!  I was a mess… but a good mess 😮 

A couple of days ago we got a call from Matt’s mom telling us that Baby Zeb had been diagnosed with Neuroblastoma (children’s cancer).  The mass is on his liver and they are taking biopsies to see what stage cancer Zeb has.  Even now as I’m writing this post he is in surgery and I’m feeling nervous all over. We are all praying his fragile body can fight this cancer, that his precious parents will have the strength to handle the challenges ahead of them and that we’ll know what to do to help Zeb’s parents.

So my perspective this week has been a little different this week.  I keep looking at my kids and taking every opportunity to hug them, listen to them and hold them close.  I can get busy sometimes and I can forget to notice and remember those precious everyday moments.

I hope I can post a positive update soon – for now, keep Zeb in your prayers and his parents…

Now, go give your kids a big hug!!! 😮

Kasey

0 Responses to “Perspective”



  1. Leave a Comment

Click here to leave a comment!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,134 other followers

Follow the Tweets!

What other moms like…

Month-by-Month

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.


