Mommy Mosaic


I love mosaic art.  I think I like it because you can make it out of broken left overs.  Beautiful creations, colorful art and unique pictures can be made, but not until the materials being used are broken into small pieces.  These pieces are sometimes smooth, sometimes jagged, sometimes torn – but they are STILL needed.

Each week I get to sit, front and center and watch a sort of mosaic picture come to life.  My mosaic is entitled: “playgroup”.  A group of women, who are very dear to me, come together.  We come in our sweats, sometimes with make-up on, sometimes not.  Some of us come tired, some excited to share a milestone, others come needing a break.  No matter how broken we are when we come to playgroup we always leave feeling put together – as though we are part of something greater and stronger than ourselves.

The children run around playing together in a sort of controlled chaos.  They transport themselves to another world – full of imagination and play.  As moms we sit upstairs multitasking on all different levels.  We watch out for each other’s children, anticipate each other’s needs and bring a listening ear to our friends needing a safe place to be real. 

At playgroup one of my friends lay on the couch with a debilitating migraine.  Her brave face was pleasant, but she needed more than community, she needed helpful hands.  One of the other mothers took my friend’s kids home for the afternoon so she could rest and recover.  Broken pieces, beautiful results – that’s what this whole mothering thing is – isn’t it?

Maybe I’m crazy, but I think I’m a better mom when I’m broken.  When my pride is removed, when my ego is quieted and when I realize I DON’T have it all together.  I need other moms.  I need them and sometimes they even need meand that feels great.

So if you live in a monotone, untextured world I challenge you to drop everything (literally) – be okay with being broken and reach out to some other moms to help you put everything back together.  God made us to live not only in community but also in a covenant where we can love each other as HE loved us.  I don’t think the women in my group of friends will ever really understand what a blessing they are to me – but I’ll keep trying to convince them 😮

Our playgroup mosaic has a dynamic that is unique, precious and sometimes fleeting.   Even when my children are grown I hope I have a community of moms I can go to for support, laughter and yes – memories.  We are women and we are so blessed to experience each season God brings our way.  In the Bible we read about two best friends – Ruth and Naomi.  In the book of Ruth, chapter 1 verse 16 Ruth says to Naomi – “Don’t urge me to leave you or to turn back from you. Where you go I will go and where you stay I will stay. Your people will be my people and your God my God”.  These two were committed to each other in life and in death. 

We are all broken – that’s not the question.  The question is – “Does my brokeness allow me to be a part of something greater than myself?  Something beautiful?  Something complete?”  If I partner with others all of these questions can be answered with a resounding “YES!” 

Enjoy making a mosaic with the moms around you – God is making something beautiful and we are meant to be together on this journey.  Thanks for joining with me on my journey – you are amazing!

1 Response to “Mommy Mosaic”


  1. 1 Chrystal April 7, 2010 at 10:31 PM

    Oh man…did I need this!! When my husband found out he would not have a job in 2 months just recently, I didn’t know what to do. I was at a loss….he was the only provider at the moment. I couldn’t even think of what to do next let alone what I was going to cook for dinner that night. My friend called and said, I just ordered pizza for you tonight. It is paid for all you have to do is go and get it. The next night another friend across the street came to my house took food out of my freezer went home and fixed it and called me to bring my family to eat. Without these 2 women I wouldn’t have been able to get through this tough time. My 7 yr old and I made a pact last year that we would each pray for God to bring the other a friend. I am so thankful that God answered her prayer two fold. Even though I feel broken…I am made whole by the friendships I share with these women.


Click here to leave a comment!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,133 other followers

Follow the Tweets!

What other moms like…

Month-by-Month

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.


