‘Tis the Season…


giftsI know we haven’t even hit Thanksgiving – but I just had to share…

Matt is out-of-town, so the wonderful women in my Bible study agreed to come to our house for our weekly meeting.  My boys were tucked in bed (I thought) and I enjoyed 2 hours of encouraging words and challenging thoughts from our Bible teacher.  After our time of study we shared our prayer requests.  When we were done praying with each other everyone headed to their cars and I heard a noise upstairs.  I walked into Matthew’s room and found him watching out his window. 

Before I could interrogate him about his choices concerning bedtime I simply asked what he was doing.  “I’m watching everyone go to their cars.”  I was ready to ask him why he was still awake and then I noticed the pile of white paper on the carpet.  Suddenly my curiosity overcame my frustration.  He explained that he was really worried about kids that wouldn’t have Christmas gifts this year.  So he made some “crafts”.  The crafts he was referring to looked more like a rejected pile of scraps, but they were created with love. 

After seeing a sampling of his work he handed me a list of things he needed.  (Oh he is sooooo like his mother – poor thing!) He said he needed a box (to carry the crafts in), a bag to put the money in, friends to help him and the van so I could drive him around the neighborhood.  I went on to ask what his plans were with the money he raised.  We talked over some options and ended up agreeing to help a local family who is struggling financially.  We agreed to raise the money, purchase the items and anonymously and leave them at the church office. 

He is still bubbling with excitement and we have made our rounds to the neighbor’s doors.  Everyone has been really supportive and I’m watching Matthew experience the joy of sacrificial giving.  He might not have much, but he knows how to cut up paper and share his dream with others.

So if you see Matthew holding a shoe box in his hands and it is full of tattered, random paper you’ll know what he’s up to.  He’s taking any and all donations and I hope the amount he earns brings so much joy to this sweet family. 

Oh may God bring the same sensitivity and creativity to my spirit this holiday season.  Each of us have a special gift we can give.  God uses our time, talents and our treasures to bless others.  Ask God what kind of blessing you can be to those around you today!

4 Responses to “‘Tis the Season…”


  1. 1 Cyndi November 12, 2009 at 4:10 PM

    That is so awesome!!! Bring him down to my house. I’ll buy one of his crafts! LOVE it!

  2. 2 Candi November 12, 2009 at 7:44 AM

    One of my favorite things about the MNU Auction (in the old days) was when someone would buy something, give it back, and then tell the auctioneer to “sell it again!”

  3. 3 Dad November 12, 2009 at 12:58 AM

    Tell Matthew that Papa forgot — Mimi wants one too and will pay $10.00 for it. She wants him to pick one out for her.:)

  4. 4 Dad November 12, 2009 at 12:55 AM

    Tell Matthew I’ll by one for $10.00


Click here to leave a comment!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,134 other followers

Follow the Tweets!

What other moms like…

Month-by-Month

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.


