You know you’re tired when…


DentistIt happened – I can’t believe it.  I actually fell asleep in the dentist chair.  Yeah – the dentist.  I was there for a regular cleaning and the music was quite lovely.  I simply closed my eyes as she began working and the next thing I knew the dental hygienist was actually tapping my shoulder and calling out my name.  We admitted that this was a first for both of us.  I hadn’t bitten her (thank goodness), but her hand was captured behind my teeth when I awoke from my short slumber.  Needless to say, I was WIDE awake for the remainder of the visit.  I had to stifle my giggles, wondering how in the world a person can fall asleep while having plaque scrapped off their teeth!  I guess if you are tired enough you’ll find rest anytime it’s offered. 

Being a mom is exhausting.  In a good way, but still – exhausting.  The job simply never ends and that is why our value has to come from more than what we do, it has to come from who we are as a creation of Christ.  he is our Father, our Creator, and we are his children. 

Romans 8:15-17 says: 15For you did not receive a spirit that makes you a slave again to fear, but you received the Spirit of sonship.  And by him we cry, “Abba, Father.” 16The Spirit himself testifies with our spirit that we are God’s children. 17Now if we are children, then we are heirs—heirs of God and co-heirs with Christ, if indeed we share in his sufferings in order that we may also share in his glory.

Did you catch that line – heirs of God and co-heirs with Christ!?!?!  That’s amazing to me!  If we are co-heirs with Christ we have to be ready to identify with His glory AND His suffering.  We aren’t facing death on a cross, but I think that at some point in our day we know the exhaustion Christ felt from ministering to others.  We are God’s children and we are taking care of OUR children.  We are fulfilling His call to minister to those who need us.

In Matthew Chapter 25 Jesus teaches us what it means to be sheep – or followers – of Christ.  He says in verses 35-36 that in the end times God, the King, will identify His sheep in this way: “‘For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me’.  The King will reply, ‘I tell you the truth, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of mine, you did for me”.

I think of this verse every time I help my children get dressed, fix a meal for our family, invite a neighbor into our home and bring a drink of water to a sick child at 2 a.m. As you go through your day, taking care of “the least of these”, remember that this calling is what comes with being a “co-heir” with Christ.  He is with us, helping us stay strong and giving us the energy to keep going.  Even when we are exhausted and at the end of our rope we can’t give up.  Look at the first part of the verse from Romans…we are not “slaves to fear”.   We are more than conquerors – even if we are running on a few hours of sleep 😮 .

I pray that even if you don’t have a full night’s rest you will feel empowered and full of glorious worth as you fullfill your calling to care for your family.

5 Responses to “You know you’re tired when…”


  1. 1 Nathan September 14, 2009 at 7:13 PM

    It’s just a good thing you’re a mouth breather when you sleep. Talk about two birds with one stone…

  2. 2 Kasey Johnson September 5, 2009 at 11:06 PM

    What a cool testimony you have! Just think – one day your little girl will ask you how you did it all and you’ll be able to tell her it was by God’s grace! You are doing such a great job! Thanks for loving your students and your children and letting God carry you the entire way. You’re right – this too shall pass…someday 😮

  3. 3 Kasey Johnson September 2, 2009 at 11:04 PM

    Sometimes it’s hard to see this as a ministry when it takes SO much out of you isn’t it!?! I can’t wait to learn about Esther in Bible Study and see what it meant for her to minister to her people and sacrifice so much of herself – I’m thinkin’ I’m really gonna like this next journey with Beth :o) Thanks for your note friend – glad you keep visiting, you make my day!

    • 4 Stacie Knight September 5, 2009 at 5:42 PM

      Thanks for the thoughts Kase! The parallel to the “least of these” is soooo true! I come home from teaching all day & I’m zonked! I don’t want to deal with my 2 year old, but the Lord gently reminds me “she’s two…only once, Stace.” That gentle reminder makes me smile & I can calmly handle my strong-willed “little me.” 🙂

  4. 5 Alyssa Johnson August 31, 2009 at 7:06 PM

    That…is…awesome! The story AND the parallel to “the least of these” and our children. Sometimes I forget- this IS my ministry right now. And to not only be okay with that but to be victorious in it!


Click here to leave a comment!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,133 other followers

Follow the Tweets!

What other moms like…

Month-by-Month

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.


