Self-cleaning


Shower Cleaner      My children are easily swayed when it comes to infomercials.  I don’t know what it is about the cheesy testimonials and the fast-talking host; but they are convinced that I need the curling iron that is also a straightener, the slider hamburger maker (“it cleans itself mom!”), the self-dispensing toothpaste holder and the self-cleaning shower.  The last item actually got my attention.  It is a device that hangs in your shower and at the push of a button distributes a cleaning foam in a 360 degree motion.  They claim you don’t have to scrub or rinse – it takes care of everything.   I don’t know if it works but it got me thinking about moms who stay home and the “self-cleaning” we have to learn in order to stay healthy.

       The amazing “Shower-Shower Cleaner” cleans the shower without any help from its owner.  The person using the hands-free system simply pushes certain buttons on the wall and programs it.  So I guess it isn’t a completely independent cleaning system – I mean, if it were couldn’t it decide when the shower was dirty?  Wouldn’t it be able to scan something or evaluate the scum collecting on the tile and decide to start cleaning?  But alas, it can’t, because it is a machine – a helpful one – but still, just a machine. 

       We are not machines (even if we sometimes feel like laundry mats).  We are amazing individuals who have a Creator, a Father Who knows the desires of our hearts. I believe God utilizes different outlets to communicate with us.  Whether it is the Holy Spirit, our friends or our husband; they can help us know when WE need a good spiritual cleaning.  When the days are long, the kids are cranky and the projects never seem to end; it can be a real struggle to find joy in being a mom.  It doesn’t mean we don’t love our children or our role – but the demands of our job are like nothing else in the world and sometimes the “soap scum” of mothering can feel quite overwhelming. 

        Because our job is so unique we have to think outside the box for ways to regroup and refuel.  When God shows us that our spirit is becoming “dirty” what do we do?  Who do we talk to?  I am blessed enough have a small, but amazing group of women who know me better than I know myself.  Some live far away and some come to playgroup each week with me.  I know I can be honest and open with these friends and they will pray for me, listen to me and help me through.

        Whether you have an “official” job outside of your house, we are ALL working moms.  As moms our jobs are  full time with no sick leave, no lunch break and our job description is constantly changing.   That’s why I think it is really important that each mom discover for herself what she needs in order to feel renewed and “clean”.  Each of us needs to find a way to scrape away any layers of gunk that might weigh us down.

       Sometimes its difficult to find a source of strength and encouragement from within when it feels like we give of ourselves all day long.  That’s why we have to look outside of ourselves and connect.  I hope that this week each of us can feel safe enough to share our thoughts with a friend or family member if we aren’t feeling as joyful and “clean” as we would like to be.    When the scum of life and activities builds up, I believe God can come in like a flood and renew our mind, body and spirit in a fresh way. 

Psalm 51:10 says, 10 Create in me a pure heart, O God,  and renew a steadfast spirit within me.

      This verse shows me that first I have to “program” the buttons – I have to call out to God and ASK Him to create a pure heart in me.  Once I accept His “cleaning” I can accept His renewal.  I don’t think God wants us to feel frustrated, alone, scared or angry – He wants us to feel steadfast, strong, grounded and full.  Our spirit can have all these qualities if we find our renewal from God alone. 

      I know I’ve taken the idea of a shower cleaner to a whole new level, but I hope the analogy has been clear.  To end I’d like to share verses 7-15 from Psalm chapter 51, but this time I’m using “The Message”.  This is a version of the Bible that doesn’t change the fundamental message or source of the Bible, but the editor uses contemporary language and words in place of traditional “Bible-speak”, if you will.  I hope you enjoy this – I smiled when I read it thinking how relevant the Bible is to our lives.  You are an amazing gift to your family!  I pray you have time to connect with your Creator, receive His steadfast spirit and let him cleanse your heart.

7-15 Soak me in your laundry and I’ll come out clean,
      scrub me and I’ll have a snow-white life.
   Tune me in to foot-tapping songs,
      set these once-broken bones to dancing.
   Don’t look too close for blemishes,
      give me a clean bill of health.
   God, make a fresh start in me,
      shape a Genesis week from the chaos of my life.
   Don’t throw me out with the trash,
      or fail to breathe holiness in me.
   Bring me back from gray exile,
      put a fresh wind in my sails!
   Give me a job teaching rebels your ways
      so the lost can find their way home.
   Commute my death sentence, God, my salvation God,
      and I’ll sing anthems to your life-giving ways.
   Unbutton my lips, dear God;
      I’ll let loose with your praise.

4 Responses to “Self-cleaning”


  1. 1 Gail Dooley August 25, 2009 at 4:20 PM

    Kasey, I remember your face from around college church. I went to MNU, graduated in 1995. Friends with Tracy Cochran and Aimee Stults.(well others too, but they are at college church) Anyway, just wanted to tell you I found your blog and have been encouraged today! Thanks for ministering!

    • 2 Kasey Johnson August 25, 2009 at 11:55 PM

      Gail, it is so nice to have you visit our wonderful community of moms! I hope God can continue to use this blog to encourage us and we can help each other. Feel free to visit the “Your Voice” page and leave any advice or questions you have. Thanks for passing this along to other moms you know and have a wonderful day! Your encouraging words mean more than you know. Thanks for taking time to write them. Hope to hear more from you soon!

      Kasey

  2. 3 Alyssa Johnson August 24, 2009 at 12:39 PM

    Kasey, My Friend
    Thank you for being in MY safe circle of friends;
    I’m honored to be in yours!
    I love you!

    • 4 Kasey Johnson August 24, 2009 at 1:55 PM

      I’m just glad you guys keep letting me hang out with you! 😮 My friends are the reason my kids get a refreshed mommy and not a stressed-out mommy. Thanks for visiting and leaving a comment – you’ve made my day even better! 😮


Click here to leave a comment!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,133 other followers

Follow the Tweets!

What other moms like…

Month-by-Month

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.


