A New Year


Baby and Cake     It’s my birthday today and I have to say – it feels good.

     I’ve seen pictures of my 1st birthday and I’m told that my Mother had to smear icing on my face for the picture – I refused to make a mess!   I’ve never liked messes, I still don’t.  At some point in my life I decided that in order to be a good, Christian girl, I had to always look, act and feel perfect.  

     In my 20’s I realized what a true “mess” I was and what a mess the people around me were, even though they appeared to have everything in place.  I shed my desire to please others and sought out my Creator’s approval.  What I found was immediate rest; I was finally at home in my own skin – able to accept God’s love without my works or striving.

    I guess that’s why I keep writing to other moms.  I only understand life by what God is showing me about myself and my utter reliance upon Him.  The moment I become self-sufficient, relying on my works or my knowledge; I lose sight of who I am.  I’m a mess, saved by grace and happy to admit that I do not have it all figured out. 

    My house gets dirty, my kids make bad choices, I don’t cook a meal each night – but thank the Lord those activites aren’t the only things that define me.  I still don’t like messes, I’d rather have everything clean and tidy, but I’ve learned how to release my mess – whether it’s spiritual, physical or social to God. 

     I believe He is a God of order – not chaos, a God of purpose – not chance, a God of love – not guilt.  He’s doing a new thing in us, even now – Romans 8:28 says

28And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose. 

     I hope you have discovered your “mess” and laid it at the foot of the cross that you can know your true purpose.  It’s a new day, a new year – let’s travel this journey together and accept the grace that God so freely gives.

Your messy friend,

Kasey

0 Responses to “A New Year”



  1. Leave a Comment

Click here to leave a comment!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,133 other followers

Follow the Tweets!

What other moms like…

Month-by-Month

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.


