Seasons


4 Seasons     Living in the Midwest means I get to experience all 4 seasons.  My parents live in San Diego where they have 2 seasons – “perfect” and “slightly less than perfect”.    No matter the time of year, I think it is wonderful that our God, in His vast creativity, gave each season its own characteristics.  The 4 seasons come around each year but they never arrive or leave in exactly the same way.  Some winters we are hammered with snow and ice, others are quite mild and calm – but winter still comes.  Summer can bring 100 degree heat while still other summers are mild with lots of rain – but summer still comes. 

     Mothering is a lot like the seasons – it is cyclical, yet every cycle is COMPLETELY new and different.  Most people wouldn’t consider me a “new” mom, but I am now in a new season of my life.  I am now discovering what it is like to have a 2-year-old at home alone – just him and me.  I’ve realized that I’ve never had just one child relying on my creativity, planning and presence and yet this is my 3rd child!

     I worked full time when our first son was young and before he turned 2 his brother had arrived.  I’ve always had multiple children or a child-care facility to provide direction for our activities.  I’m still working part-time but I don’t have child care and now I have two children at school from 12:30-3:40.

     I’m rediscovering what it means to plan my afternoons and my time with James, our toddler.  I actually had to go on line and look up activities that are appropriate for his age group.  I’m glad that even though this is my 3rd toddler it’s still refreshing, new and well – unknown. 

     I don’t ever want to become one of those “I’ve got this all figured out” kind of moms – that just isn’t me.  I’ve NEVER been here, in this place, at this time, with these ages of children.  I guess that’s why being a parent is so humbling and exciting all at the same time.  We are always discovering a new season – but we encounter it with much more experience, knowledge and confidence. 

     We’re all in this together and like one of my dear friends said this weekend: We’re all reading the same book, we’re just on different chapters.  No matter the season you are in –  make sure you give yourself a break!  Enjoy the ride and make sure you don’t miss a single “season” – too many great things are happening around you!

    The Bible says in Ecclesiastes Chapter 3: There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under heaven.  If you have time today, look up that entire chapter in the Bible – it’s pretty cool to see all the things God lists.  I think we might encounter most of that list in just one week! 😮  Have a wonderful day, no matter if it’s rainy, snowy or sunny outside – I pray the light of God’s strength and love would be evident in our homes and our daily activities.  You are amazing!  Keep up the great work and don’t worry – if this season is rough it won’t last forever! 😮

2 Responses to “Seasons”


  1. 1 Chrysy huff August 18, 2009 at 10:06 PM

    Do naps not count anymore? LOL I haven’t had my own toddler for 15 years but I am going to have my nephew this fall. SO I will be looking at your site to see if I can get any NEW tips or ideas for this OLDER momma.

    CH

    • 2 Kasey Johnson August 18, 2009 at 10:21 PM

      I guess it’s true – the seasons just keep coming no matter our age or if our children are grown!! Have fun and have no fear – you’ve got lots of mommies out here ready to offer up as many ideas as you are willing to hear – keep your questions coming! – and thanks for visiting!


Click here to leave a comment!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,133 other followers

Follow the Tweets!

What other moms like…

Month-by-Month

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.


