Strong and Courageous


desert signToday we took our middle son, Tyler, to kindergarten.  He was ready to go to school this morning, so waiting until 12:30 was almost torture for him.  I, on the other hand, have been preparing for this moment for the last 5 years and I handled it much better than when we took our first-born, Matthew, to school for the first time.  I remember the surprising amount of tears that filled my eyes after the door to Matthew’s classroom closed behind me and his school day started.  I knew he was safe and would have fun, but I knew a chapter in our life was now officially over.  Somehow it seems a bit easier this time, only because I’ve seen all the new and exciting chapters of life that have started as the school years have progressed.

I really was doing fine today, walking out the school doors holding our 2-year-old James in my arms – and then it happened.  James started crying and reaching for his brothers as we left the building.  I LOST it!  His friends, his brothers, were staying – and we were going home.  That’s when it hit me and the tears filled my eyes.  My strong outer shell was cracking and my emotions were breaking through.

I suddenly remembered the conversation I had with my 2nd grader this morning.  He was anxious about the change and sad to not be with us all day.  We talked about being brave, looking for the positive things and trusting God to protect Him.  I had to take my own advise and became a little more brave, found some positive elements to my new life with one child at home and began trusting God to be with my boys.  I remembered the scripture Matt and I had recently read together.  It is from Joshua chapter 1 and four different times in that passage the Lord says, “be strong and courageous” it also says that the Lord would be with me wherever I go – He’d even be with my children.

My Dad pointed out that God doesn’t say He will help us to be strong and courageous, He just tells us to be that way.  Thankfully He not only shows us His plan but will deliever what He has promised.  I love the fact that God has made our relationship with him a 2-way channel of communication and commitment.  It’s the same way with our kids…

I hope that my children can watch my faith journey and see me staying strong because I’m leaning on God.  I pray they see my courage lived out – not because I’m naive to the possible trials, but because I know who holds my future.  Whether they are facing the challenge of a new school year, or choosing what career to pursue I pray my children will face this life strong and courageous.

May you  continue to be strong, courageous and full of hope as you continue through the journey of motherhood.  We are in this WITH God and with each other.  Keep pressing on through the desert when it comes – the promise land is just around the bend!

6Be strong and courageous, because you will lead these people to inherit the land I swore to their forefathers to give them. 7 Be strong and very courageous. Be careful to obey all the law my servant Moses gave you; do not turn from it to the right or to the left, that you may be successful wherever you go. 8 Do not let this Book of the Law depart from your mouth; meditate on it day and night, so that you may be careful to do everything written in it. Then you will be prosperous and successful. 9 Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be terrified; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go.”  10 So Joshua ordered the officers of the people: 11 “Go through the camp and tell the people, ‘Get your supplies ready. Three days from now you will cross the Jordan here to go in and take possession of the land the LORD your God is giving you for your own.’ ”  …  16 Then they answered Joshua, “Whatever you have commanded us we will do, and wherever you send us we will go. 17 Just as we fully obeyed Moses, so we will obey you. Only may the LORD your God be with you as he was with Moses. 18 Whoever rebels against your word and does not obey your words, whatever you may command them, will be put to death. Only be strong and courageous!”

2 Responses to “Strong and Courageous”


  1. 1 Lynene Sandbloom August 15, 2009 at 2:43 PM

    Hey Kasey,
    Meg just clued me in to your blog and tells me that you will have a book out soon! I am so proud of you! I have always
    felt like you were one of MINE and that puts a smile on my face.
    Bless you for all that God is doing through you. Keep strong,
    those precious boys will be off to high school before you can pack another school lunch!
    Love Ya,
    Lynene

    • 2 Kasey Johnson August 15, 2009 at 8:12 PM

      You are so precious! Yes, a book is in the works – God has given me a new challenge and desire in my heart and I’m trying to be obedient without getting frustrated with how long it all takes! I’m just sitting back and waiting on God’s timing – enjoying the adventures along the way…you can definitely call me one of “yours” – that is an honor! Thanks for visiting my blog, I hope to see you back here often. And I can’t wait to hear your amazing ideas! Have a great day!


Click here to leave a comment!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,134 other followers

Follow the Tweets!

What other moms like…

Month-by-Month

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.


