Be Still


stormI remember hearing the congregation in our church sing the words, “Be still and know that I am God”.  I remember it clearly because usually we would sing only with our voices – no instruments – and I loved it!  It was as though God’s presence was there, inhabiting the praise of His people.  I always struggled with wanting to just listen, not sing, trying to take it all in.

I’m finding it more of a challenge to be still during these days of transition.  I guess that’s all life really is – one big transition – but it all seems so urgent and constant right now.  I have to remind myself to listen.  To sit. To be still.  These actions sound so basic, but when I finally get to sit and be still I usually end up falling asleep :o.

God is challenging me to keep a balance between my efforts, my good intentions, and my time with Him.  I’m learning to be still, to claim the truth that He IS God and release my anxieties upon Him.  One of my favorite lines from the devotional My Utmost For His Highest says – “Do I really dare to let God be to me all that He said He would be?”.  What a powerful question!  Because if I answer “yes” than I cannot possibly fret, fear, doubt or worry about my life. 

If  He is my everything, I can be still – even in the midst of screaming children.  If He is my everything I can be still and know that He is going to take care of us even when the numbers don’t work for the monthly budget.  If He is my everything I can be still and know that He is my rock when it seems like the world around me is spinning out of control. 

In the New Testament book of Mark Jesus’ disciples were scared, full of doubt and in the middle of one of the worst storms to hit their small boat.  Jesus was asleep while all this was going on and even after the discciples doubted His concern for their welfare He did what He always does, He took care of things.  Mark 4:39 states: He got up, rebuked the wind and said to the waves, “Quiet! Be still!” Then the wind died down and it was completely calm.

You might feel like God is “asleep” or that you are alone, being tossed around by life – but God is right there with you.  He’s holding you close.  He knows your heart and your mind – He loves you.  I hope that today you will have a moment to sit and be still, trusting in His presence, His promises and claiming His peace.  The Psalms say it best: 

Psalm 46:10…”Be still, and know that I am God”

Psalm 37:7…Be still before the LORD and wait patiently for him; do not fret…

I pray that no matter what happens, what events occur; that  you too will be able to be still, to wait upon the Lord and not fret.  Our God is a loving God – He’s waiting to wrap His loving arms around you and fill you up…make time for Him and He will be there.

2 Responses to “Be Still”


  1. 1 Kaela Carmichael August 12, 2009 at 3:11 PM

    I needed this one this week. Thank you for listening to what He wants you to say.

    • 2 Kasey Johnson August 12, 2009 at 4:05 PM

      You are so sweet – I’m glad I’m not the only one…maybe we can get together for coffee and actually be still at the same time! Have a great day!


Click here to leave a comment!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,134 other followers

Follow the Tweets!

What other moms like…

Month-by-Month

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.


