New Car Smell


buying a new carIf you’ve ever purchased a new car you know the amazing smell that surrounds you the first time you sit behind the wheel.  I remember when we were thinking about purchasing our van.  I looked at my husband and promised him that I would keep it clean, we wouldn’t eat in the car and I’d make sure to clean out all the trash at the end of each day.  (Are you laughing yet?)

Today I helped each of our boys move into their new big boy rooms and beds.  It was amazing to watch them rearrange their clothes and choose which drawers would hold certain items.  My 7-year-old suddenly became very particular about how his underwear were folded, the direction his socks would lay and which shelf would hold his shoes.  I remembered how it felt to get something new, to own it, develop it and maintain it.  It was always so exciting and full of promise!

I have no idea if my son will keep putting his clothes away with such care and detail, but it’s wonderful to know he feels a sense of ownership and that he cares about the little things.  As for me, my intentions were so good and true with our van, but the reality is that the van gets a weekly cleaning – not daily and yes, we eat in the car.

Do you remember the first day you came home with your new baby?  Everything was new and exciting – they even had that new baby smell!  And if you were like me, you had an opinion about everything that had to do with that baby. 

As my children have grown I’ve tried to remember what that newness felt like.  I want to remember how they use to arch their back and pull their legs up tight when I picked them up.  I don’t want to get bogged down in the daily routine of my busy life and forget.  Some of you have left comments on previous posts that have been encouraging to read.  I’m so impressed at your efforts to keep the freshness and appreciation alive in your relationships with your kids.

Our “babies” are still new, no matter how old they are!  They might not be a helpless infant, but they are discovering new adventures at every turn.  They need us to see things as fresh, not frustrating.  We can be the energy, the excitement and encouragement that they need to be successful.  We need to move forward with our kids and embrace the world they are creating for themselves as we give them direction and feedback…isn’t it great to have this job!?!?!?

I believe that life is too full of exciting adventures to long for the familiarity of the past.  I believe that life is too short to miss the adventures waiting around each turn.  I believe that life is too unpredictable to try and control everything from start to finish.

Life is a gift and our enthusiasm must be grounded in that belief and not in our current circumstances.

So whether you are new to the job of “Mom” or this is old hat to you, I pray that you will find a new and fresh experience with your children today.  Listen to them, watch them, get down on the floor and wrestle with them!  Do whatever it takes to discover what is new to them and I think you’ll discover it for the first time, again.

In scripture we are constantly challenged to see the world and each other through God’s eyes.  Let’s refelct on today’s scripture from Habakkuk 1:5 –

5 “Look at the nations and watch— and be utterly amazed.
       For I am going to do something in your days
       that you would not believe,  even if you were told.

What will God do today!?!?!  Don’t miss it.  Breathe, pray, listen and watch – you are an amazing mother and God is blessing your efforts in ways you “wouldn’t believe, even if you were told”.

2 Responses to “New Car Smell”


  1. 1 Keri Meyer August 8, 2009 at 9:49 AM

    Kasey,
    Thanks so much for being sensitive to God’s call on your life. You are a blessing to many. Be encouraged today as you encourage all of us. We are all truly blessed to be called “mom” even in the moments when it doesn’t FEEL like a blessing. Those always pass and God always reminds us of how short this phase in our “babies” life is! Mine are 7 and 8 and going to 2nd and 3rd grade next week. AHHHHHH. I still think I’m 22, but that math doesn’t seem to add up…LOL! Anyway thanks again for pouring your heart into this, I know God is smiling down on you. God Bless

    • 2 Kasey Johnson August 8, 2009 at 1:04 PM

      Keri I can’t believe we have kids this old! We aren’t getting older are we?!?!? I agree with you, I still feel 22 – bt I’m glad we have the opportunity to see God teach me so much through my children. Thanks for your encouragement and sweet words. Have a great day and keep up that great energy and smile you always have!


Click here to leave a comment!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,133 other followers

Follow the Tweets!

What other moms like…

Month-by-Month

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.


