We’re all in this together


handsWhat a wonderful feeling – I’ve come full circle.  As I walked into the doctor’s office today I saw four pregnant women looking up at me.  I have to admit that initially I was  very thankful that it wan’t me sitting there with swollen ankles, a flattened bladder and the shallow breathing that come with 9 months of pregnancy.  I can finally sit on the other side of pregnancy, pat their back and reassure them that this too shall pass and they will make it.

After enjoying this brief moment of relief, I looked at those women with a kind of a nostalgic wonderment.  We’ve all been there – whether it was our first or fourth – sitting  at the adoption agency or in the doctor’s office anticipating the arrival of our child.

I wonder how God felt as He watched us prepare our homes, our bodies and our lives to accommodate a baby.  I have to believe that He looks on us with a sort of joy and anticipation that can only be experienced by someone who has been where we are.  Maybe that’s why becoming a grandparent is so amazing.  A grandparent has been there, they know what their child is getting ready to experience and they can’t wait to sit back, watch the show and be supportive.   

God knew what was coming when he made us mothers. He knew we’d be strong enough to handle it. He’s been in our shoes and I believe He understands the heart of a mother better than anyone.  God may not have given birth to a baby, but He is definitely a creator and nurturer.  He created the earth and watched it take form little by little.  He even prepared the world for the arrival of His Son.  Then He watched Jesus walk among us and in the end, save us.  God knows what it means to sacrifice everything for the love of His creation. Whether we became mothers through birth or adoption we came to the “table” of motherhood with the same God watching over us, ready to support us in anyway that we need Him.

The best part about our Creator?  He understood that we’d also need someone here on earth, at the table with us.  He gave us our family and our friends. My friends, my playgroup, my Sunday school class, the girls at the gym – they are all at the table with me.  Within each other we find comfort, laughter, support, advice, and community. 

We need each other. I need each of you.  Let’s pray for each other, lift each other up.  Below is 1 John 3:18-20 as translated from The Message.  Take some time to read it, reflect on it and let’s go out and show some real love to our world! 

18-20My dear children, let’s not just talk about love; let’s practice real love. This is the only way we’ll know we’re living truly, living in God’s reality. It’s also the way to shut down debilitating self-criticism, even when there is something to it. For God is greater than our worried hearts and knows more about us than we do ourselves.

2 Responses to “We’re all in this together”


  1. 1 Mary Tollie August 6, 2009 at 9:09 PM

    Kasey,
    I have so enjoyed these. You are obviously very passionate about this vision and gift God has given you. I am so proud of you for embracing it and am very excited to see where He leads! You are already blessing others through this blog, myself included. “We are blessed to bless.” Thanks for sharing!
    Love you,
    Mary

    • 2 Kasey Johnson August 6, 2009 at 10:11 PM

      I think I’m so passionate because I know how much other women have given to me thus far and I just want to give a little back. You are such a great friend – thanks for being so supportive and wonderful!


Click here to leave a comment!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,134 other followers

Follow the Tweets!

What other moms like…

Month-by-Month

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.


