Flash Dance


dancing womanYou are probably picturing leg warmers and a stage, but I’m talking about a different kind of flash dance.  One that happens at a moment’s notice and is so precious to witness.  Maybe it’s the music teacher in me or the fact that my current job keeps me constantly connected with music; but one of my favorite things to do with my boys is to dance.   The 2-year-old is so fun to watch – there is this inner energy and expression that comes pouring out of him as he learns different ways to move his body.  My 7-year-old gets a little embarrassed and my 5-year-old somehow ends up jumping off or onto something each time.

Each boy expresses himself in such a different way and I love watching them discover that freedom.  My challenge to all the moms out there is to turn on a good CD of “real” music and dance like crazy!  When I say real music I mean a genre that explores different meters or feel.  The kid’s music and listening CDs are great – but all the songs start to sound the same.  I dare you to venture out, find a jazz CD, some big band songs or blues station on your satellite and watch your kids respond in a completely different way to each genre. 

When a slow song comes on – don’t give in to the temptation to turn the channel – grab some Kleenex or light weight scarves and pass them out.  Have your kids follow your example of throwing the items into the air on the beat and watch them slowly float back to the ground.  Another idea during a slow song is to have everyone get on their knees or sit down and only allow them to move their upper body. 

During a fast, upbeat song hand them some maracas or make your own shakers out of rice or dried pasta.  It’s amazing to me how God built in to each child an understanding of beat, rhythm and accents.  They are such creative beings and music taps into that inner voice.

Even scriptures talk about dancing as being a way to bring praise and thanksgiving for everything God had done.  In fact, according to my research the word ‘dance’ or ‘dancing’ is in the Bible 20 different times.  I know the angels are singing praises to God in heaven, but I have to believe they are also dancing – how could they keep from it?  I watch my children, I think about how blessed my life is and sometimes all I want to do is dance.

(I hope this provides some explanation for what you might see on any given day if you peek through the windows of our house :o)

Psalm 30:11 says 11 You turned my wailing into dancing;  you removed my sackcloth and clothed me with joy,

If you are having a “sackcloth” kind of day – start dancing!  If your children are wailing – start dancing!  I have found that it is nearly impossible for a child to continue crying when their mother is dancing like a crazy person to some upbeat music in the middle of the kitchen, singing into a wooden spoon microphone.  It’s a good day, a dancing kind of day!  Take the stage with confidence, you’ve earned some time to shake your thing and be clothed in joy!!!!!!

5 Responses to “Flash Dance”


  1. 1 Jennifer Fletcher August 13, 2009 at 3:19 PM

    I love this!! I discovered in a long-ago post-partum world that music helped me SO much. It’s hard to be dragging and depressed when you have the right music surrounding you and holding you up….I can’t tell you how many nights I danced to my little CD player in the kitchen, in the almost-dark, bouncing-and-bouncing-and-bouncing baby Jonathan (in that “please stop screaming” kind of way) and waiting for Dave to get home. Now Jonathan is the one bringing up “my i-tunes” on the computer and we all–Anna now included–dance together (which for them involves a lot of jumping on the playroom sofa).

    SUCH JOY!!!

    • 2 Kasey Johnson August 13, 2009 at 3:48 PM

      Jen – you are so right! Thanks for reminding me about the incredible power music has when it comes to dealing with little babies – and to think that the same “baby” is now working your itunes – my how time flies! Thanks for sharing the encouraging words! I have some friends who are expecting babies and I know they will remember your story during those long nights 😮 Have great day and share again soon!

  2. 3 Matt Johnson August 5, 2009 at 2:30 PM

    I must add that Flash Dance isn’t near as fun without Dad…

    …just sayin’

    🙂

  3. 5 Kaela Carmichael August 4, 2009 at 12:50 PM

    I love this! The kids and I just had a dance day a couple days ago! Landen, much like Tyler, I guess, jumped around and off the couch, Alivia was “shaking her booty”, and Brynn just sat in the swing and watched us all with wide eyes! It was such a good time for everyone. I’m glad you mentioned making homemade shakers, too. I used to make them at the LC, so it was a good reminder of something to do here at home! Keep writing, Kasey! I love your perspective and your tie in to the scriptures. You have a wonderful gift here! 🙂


Click here to leave a comment!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,134 other followers

Follow the Tweets!

What other moms like…

Month-by-Month

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.


