Remember when…


BLD055539This morning I was sitting next to my good friend Jen who is in her 8th month of pregnancy.  Without any prompting she simply looked at me and asked, “Did you ever get to the point where you forgot what you use to look like”?  I couldn’t help but laugh because I DO remember thinking that.  I wasn’t sad or bitter, I just had moments while I was pregnant when I forgot what I use to look like.  I forgot what it felt like to sleep on my stomach, to see my toes without leaning forward, to shave my legs in the shower without discovering a new and very risky yoga pose in the process.

I feel like sometimes we become so physically, emotionally, mentally and spiritually wrapped in what it means to be a mom that we forget who we once were and who we hoped to be.  I believe that God brings us family, friends, a husband, a playgroup and His scripture to help us keep our feet firmly planted in who we are as a woman of God, a wife, a sister, a friend and a daughter. 

My children are amazing, plain and simple. I praise God that I am lucky enough to be a mom.  But they are also incredibly draining.  Anyone who says their children aren’t demanding of their time and energy are either lying or they have a wonderful nanny that takes care of all the little details.  To the people with nannies I say “Congratulations!  I’m very happy for you and honestly, a bit jealous”.  To the liars I plead with you to get out of your denial and start taking care of yourself.  If you don’t know who you are, what you want in life and how to keep those things active while raising children you have some rough days ahead.

Our children’s needs aren’t going to change, but as Smart Moms we know how to meet those needs without losing the knowledge of who we are.  I don’t believe God ever intended for us to self-sacrifice for our children until we are empty and dry.  I believe He wants us to have a balanced, boundary-filled life that keeps everything (including our children) in perspective. The most important thing to remember is to remember who we are in Christ.

The apostle Paul wrote some very specific and important instructions to his brother and servant in Christ – Titus.  It’s a short book, but one that breeches many of the issues we encounter as mothers.  One of the many points that Paul asked Titus to share with the people was the fact that we are not saved because we are righteous, but because Christ freely shed His blood on the cross. Titus 3:5-7 says: 5he saved us, not because of righteous things we had done, but because of his mercy. He saved us through the washing of rebirth and renewal by the Holy Spirit, 6whom he poured out on us generously through Jesus Christ our Savior, 7so that, having been justified by his grace, we might become heirs having the hope of eternal life.

What a refreshing reminder to us as moms – we are saved by grace. Our value does not come from “the righteous things” we have done.  So no matter what you do or don’t remember of your life before children – remember this: You have a Savior that not only loves you, He gave His life for you. We are heirs to His throne and we can hold on to the hope of the eternal life that awaits us.  Don’t let the dirty dishes, dirty clothes and dirty children make you forget who you are as a child of God. 

No matter what happens this week I pray you will remember when the Son of God gave His life.  He loves you, He walks with you and He has a plan for you.  Hold strong, embrace each moment and know that God’s promises are true.  Ma we be renewed and reborn through the working of the Holy Spirit – He knows exactly what we needed yesterday, what we need today and what we’ll need for tomorrow.

3 Responses to “Remember when…”


  1. 1 Jen August 6, 2009 at 6:25 PM

    You have an amazing way with words girl! Glad I could inspire you for a brief moment, especially when I’m not feeling quite so inspiring myself!! And as you said today, “this too shall pass” (luckily in about 6 more weeks). Then comes the real trials and struggles….this is just the calm before the storm!!
    Love you!

    • 2 Kasey Johnson August 6, 2009 at 6:40 PM

      It was so good to see you today – you are doing so great! You are right, the calm really is right now – but sometimes it just doesn’t seem that way! :o) Don’t worry, I’ll still be here when the storm hits too…hee, hee, hee…

  2. 3 Bethany August 3, 2009 at 12:02 AM

    Well said, my friend. I enjoyed every word. You have a way of speking God’s truth to a mom’s heart. Keep it comin’…


Click here to leave a comment!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,133 other followers

Follow the Tweets!

What other moms like…

Month-by-Month

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.


